Let The Garden Begin

A good start

A good start

The extremely cold and way overstayed winter is finally over. This weekend I finished planting the spring garden and saving or removing all the plants damaged from the winter weather.

Looking good

Looking good

 

Last year I tried planting fava beans along with the garlic and carrots to see if it could survive over winter. Since this winter was much colder and longer than normal they did not. I do not know if they would have survived if we had a “normal” winter but from now on I will just plant the seeds in late February along with the spinach and arugula, which is what I did this year. The winter also knocked out some of the carrots, and the garlic is much shorter this year than years previous, so I will have to see how they do as things warm up.

I will have to prune again

I will have to prune again

The biggest loss over winter was half of my rosemary bush. At this point I am not sure if the rosemary plant will survive or not, but after some severe pruning I have some hope it will spring back. As a back up I planted a new one. I also lost an oregano and sage plant, which I have also replaced. Fingers crossed we do not have an overly hot, long and nasty summer to follow.

Of course the mint is back in force, soon it will be time for mojitos

Of course the mint is back in force, soon it will be time for mojitos

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, How to and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Let The Garden Begin

  1. Wednesday I am starting my seedlings — I’m very excited! I don’t know where you live, but you might try tenting the rosemary bush through winter?

  2. And let the wild rumpus begin! (Sorry, couldn’t help the Sendak reference! :)) We are so blessed with climate over here – spoilt in fact – that we get to garden in a very lazy way. You guys are so much more diligent – and it’s all looking good already! Rosemary is a tough old plant, hopefully it will survive, and we never have any luck with sage – it’s either too wet, or too cold, or something. Oregano grows like mad here though – I guess if you do have a scorching hot summer, that’s one plant that will survive! :)

  3. Well done! And I’m sure the rosemary will be fine after a good prune – it’s very hardy.

  4. Before it can come to the table, it must be cultivated. These gardens are in good hands.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Not the rosemary bush!!! I’m accustomed to mine dying here, whether I leave them out or bring them indoors. Yours, though, must have been a decent sized plant. Sorry that you lost it. I did a little work in the front yard last week and the ground was still frozen solid in quite a few areas. Real gardening may have to wait a couple more weeks.

  6. Yes, yes, yes….I just started my early Spring garden this past weekend…arugula, radishes, 2 kinds of leeks, nasturtiums….oh how happy we are!

  7. Michelle says:

    If I don’t get my rosemary outside soon, there will be nothing left of it. It lasted all winter under a light in the kitchen. But in the last few weeks it seems to have decided it just couldn’t go on. Looking forward to your garden reports.

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m all for the mojitos! Sorry that I can’t get excited for your greens, we still have ice!

  9. Karen says:

    Your garden looks good considering your colder than normal winter. My rosemary never survives Maine’s brutal winters at our cottage garden but my oregano, sage, thyme and chives come back each year since they were planted almost four years ago. Good luck this growing season.

Leave a Reply

