Crawfish Boil

Add some beer and you are ready

Add some beer and you are good to go

Since we are so close to Louisiana, every spring means crawfish season is open. Nothing is more traditional than a good old fashioned crawfish boil. So boil up a big pot of water, break out the old bay and get ready to party. Just be warned, most people need about 3 lbs each of crawfish to get full so buy in bulk. Anything left over can be used for many other tasty recipes like this and this. Who knows, there may be a new use later this week.

Or you could swing by a roadside stand and pick it up already cooked.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Crawfish Boil

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I haven’t had crawfish in over 20 yrs. (sad sigh).

  2. Does Crawfish taste like lobster or shrimps..I saw these on the Paris Hilton show

  3. They do look good. Crayfish are used for decoration, rather than for eating, over here. In fact I only ever see one at a time, perched on the side of some seafood dish. I’ve just been googling “crayfish in the Loire” without much luck.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever had crawfish but your boil sounds like something I’d love! 3lbs is a lot, are they expensive?

  5. Wow that looks great!

  6. Wow – we don’t get these in Spain :(

  7. Raymund says:

    My ohh my, you make me drool this early morning

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen raw crayfish here, Greg. All I’ve seen are already boiled. I guess it’s better than trying to ship them live. You do make them sound good, though.

  9. Few things better in this world than a boil.

Leave a Reply

