Roti

Similar to flour tortillas

Similar to flour tortillas

This flat bread recipe comes from Eva’s Kitchen Inspirations, which she altered from Metemgee. I almost followed Eva’s recipe exactly and had a perfect product the first time around.  The only thing I changed is to add a teaspoon of butter to the dough instead of half a teaspoon of vegetable shortening. I also found that a normal person will each eat at least two of these so I doubled the recipe. I did like the added flavor the whole wheat flour brought to the mix. The video on the Metemgee blog really shows how to roll up the dough properly, just fast forward a bit.

When finished the bread can be used to dunk into many different Indian or Greek dishes, sauces and dips. It is also really good with a drizzle of honey.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Indian, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Roti

  1. vwoods1212 says:

    I grew up on this and I can attest that it is very addictive in a good way. Great taste when done right. VW

  2. I love roti but have never thought ot make my own. Am off to check out the recipe!

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    Thank you for the link and shout out! I love that you added butter instead of shortening! You’re absolutely right about having two, they are just THAT good! Yours turned out perfectly!

  4. Have been wanting to try my hand at Roti and now I will.

  5. Raymund says:

    Wow I love this bread specially with curries

  6. Metemgee says:

    Thanks for sharing my recipe. Glad you were able to make it your own!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    These look as good as Eva’s and I bet you won’t be the only one to make her rôti.

  8. Pingback: Edamame Tahini Spread | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

