Stick a Fork In It Double Coconut Muffins

Little snack cakes

Little snack cakes

By Katherine

These muffins may be as white as winter legs, but they are deliciously tasty. We suppose one could use coconut oil instead of butter, but we don’t keep coconut oil on hand so we can’t say for sure.

True story, the first time I made these I followed the standard ratio (outlined in Ratio) for muffins to create what I was sure would be a masterpiece. Two parts flour, two parts milk… Since the quick reference didn’t call for a rising agent, I didn’t include one. This occurred to me once the muffins had been baking for 10 minutes. The muffins were delicious, but dense. I took them to a management team meeting at work where I watched an attorney attempt to eat hers with a fork. The fork lost. The snapped utensil stayed in the middle of the muffin, which stayed on her plate. My unleavened muffins may not have fed the masses, but they did provide a moment of levity.

Double Coconut Muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups sweetened coconut flakes
  • 13.5 ounces coconut milk
  • 4 oz melted butter
  • 3/4 sugar
  • 1 egg
  • zest 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. Stir in butter, coconut milk, egg and lemon zest. Stir until just combined. Grease muffin pans and divide batter among them. These should make 12 standard-sized muffins. Bake at 350 until sides and tops are beginning to brown and a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, about 30 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stick a Fork In It Double Coconut Muffins

  1. Reblogged this on idealisticrebel and commented:
    Hungry anyone?

  2. vwoods1212 says:

    looks absolutely yum, yum.

  3. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  4. TasteFood says:

    I always make anything with coconut a double.

  5. Melissa says:

    I’m so trying this one out!

  6. Cecile says:

    You made me laugh about the ‘broken fork’ – which made my parakeets tweet like crazy – so you made all three of us happy!! You & ChgoJohn often make me laugh!! Damn… I wished we all lived closer to each other – what a fun time THAT would be!

  7. Kristy says:

    I wish my winter legs were this tan! ;) These sound fabulous – and I’ll make sure to remember the baking powder. LOL!

  8. Pingback: My Brief, Winning Foray Into “Redneck” Cooking | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

