Chai Tea

That cookie looks familiar

That cookie looks familiar

It’s taking forever for spring-like weather to arrive in the South. Normally we’d be turning the garden in early March. Instead we were waiting for the ice covering it to melt. This helped us think warm thoughts.

Chai Tea

  • 24 ounces water
  • 4 black tea bags
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 10 cloves
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1/4 tsp ground cardamom (or a few whole pods)
  • 4 cracks black pepper
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 8-12 ounces milk

Bring water, honey and spices to a boil. Throw in tea bags and let boil another two-three minutes. Lower heat to a simmer and leave for 10 minutes. Add desired amount of milk and return to a simmer. Strain into two to four mugs.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Indian, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chai Tea

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    With all those spices I be this tea is more than the mildly flavoured hot water calling itself tea that I’ve usually endured. :)

  2. Good morning … :)

  3. cupitonians says:

    I love this recipe. I’m going to try it. As an aside, In India and many of the south asian nations, chai means tea – so basically you’re saying tea tea. It’s the one and only thing that can’t shut me up. I can even take “your welcome”.

  4. I love this tea. Now a recipe. Thanks! I just had some in DC Tuesday to warm me up after a long walk around the city.

  5. Karen says:

    No gardening anything soon here in New Hampshire. We still have a foot of snow on the ground and it is 19 degrees. Yes a cup of chai tea would be warming and welcoming.

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    Oh my, I am sorry that you too are going through this incredible polar vortex; it’s quite ridiculous! Yesterday we were again dumped on with about 7-10 inches of snow. And this morning, temperatures were -6·F with a wind chill of -16°F so I can only guess what you guys are going through not being used to such weather. The chai would certainly warm you up, but honestly, shouldn’t there be a little booze in it? ;-)

  7. Kristy says:

    Even you guys are having bad weather? It’s dreadful. I’m hoping tomorrow is the turning point. We’re supposed to hit 50. Then again, we’ve done that two other times and it’s immediately been followed by snow and cold. I love that you made chai at home. I haven’t tried making it myself before.

Leave a Reply

