Apple Topped Coffee Cake

Perfect for breakfast or dessert

Perfect for breakfast or dessert

This is a dense cake with a fantastic topping. The recipe was adapted from Pillsbury’s Best Muffins and Quick Breads.

Coffee Cake Topped with Apple Slices

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup butter softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp greek yogurt
  • 2 cups thinly sliced apples

Topping

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp butter

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a circular 9″ baking dish. In a bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a large bowl beat sugar, cinnamon and butter together until creamy. Add egg and vanilla and beat to incorporate. Add flour mixture and yogurt and beat until batter forms. Pour into pan and top with sliced apples. Mix the topping ingredients together and crumble over top of cake. Bake until top is browned and cake is cooked through, about 30 minutes. Cool 10 minutes before serving.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Apple Topped Coffee Cake

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I wish I had some apples in my fruit crisper cause I’d make this great cake. It looks simple and oh so good.

  2. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  3. Ruth says:

    Oh this looks so delicious. Mmmm I can smell it

  4. TasteFood says:

    Perfect for everything.

  5. I am having my early morning coffee, pre dashing off to another photo shoot, longing for your coffee cake…just a wee bite with my coffee?

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    It does sound perfect for breakfast!

  7. Kristy says:

    This looks delicious! Would it be wrong to eat ice cream with it at breakfast? ;)

  8. I have a secret love for coffee cakes and this one looks particularly fine!

  9. It’s very pretty! I do love coffee cakes!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    With that cinnamon and those apples on top, this is my kind of coffee cake.

  11. Pingback: An Apple A Day… | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

