The Kitchen is Done

Still fairly simple and utilitarian

Still fairly simple and utilitarian

The kitchen is finally finished. The color scheme is much better than the old kitchen and I have to admit that kneading bread on the new stone counter is so nice. Even though we kept the layout similar the new cabinets have a lot more storage space, due in large part to the pantry design and that the cabinets go to the ceiling now.

The last holdout was a stainless steel back splash to go up behind the stove and vent. The kitchen had been fairly done except that for the last week. The whole job took 78 days but we were only without a functioning kitchen for 43 days. I classify functioning as a working stove, sink and refrigerator all in the same room.

I have spent enough time ranting about what has gone wrong so here are some more photos.

We still need to buy s custom shade for the window.

We still need to buy a custom shade for the window.

Katherine came up with this

Katherine came up with this

We never used that spice rack for spices, but Katherine really likes roosters and this seemed like a good way to organize the keys. Oh check out the new light switches. Pretty nice. New plugs as well.

The kitchen table

The kitchen table

For anyone who wants to compare before and after go here.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in How to, Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Kitchen is Done

  1. I really, really, really like it. Nice job!

  2. sallybr says:

    I am thrilled for you! I know too well how hard it is to go through this type of renovation and I can tell your new kitchen is a huge, huge improvement! Love the rug too, by the way
    the setting of your stove, sink and dishwasher is simply EXACTLY like our kitchen, window placement included,,,, Too cool!

    looking forward to everything you both will be cooking in this great new place! ENJOY!

  3. Kristy says:

    I love it! Just love it! The cabinets are very similar to our last house (the kitchen I desperately miss). Love how spacious and open it looks. You’re going to have some fun in there for sure!!! Nicely done you two!

  4. It all looks wonderful! Hooray for new kitchens! :)

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Wonderful job, Greg. So much cabinet space! Are those lights under the cupboards? I bet the kitchen looks great at night, too, when they’re lit.

  6. Great job, Greg. That’s a good looking kitchen. My only gripe is the word “stainless steel”. I don’t know which comedian thought of that ironic name, but I’d like him to come and clean ours :)

  7. Absolutely stunning – so beautiful and perfectly laid out. You are both going to spend some wonderful time cooking up amazing meals to share in there!

  8. niasunset says:

    WOW! I loved your new kitchen, Blessing and Happiness, Thank you, love, nia

  9. Congratulations! This is beautiful. I love the lines of your cabinet doors–Shaker style? And how nice to have space that goes all the way to the ceiling! Everything and everyone can breathe now, right?

  10. Awesome job, guys! It’ll be worth all the trouble…If I were a betting person, I’d wager that it already *is*…. :)

  11. So happy for you! Really well done! Love the cabinets!

  12. ohlidia says:

    Oh, it’s gorgeous Greg! Well done!

  13. Love the kitchen, great job.

  14. Sherry says:

    wonderful looking…we are facing our own make-over soon…not looking forward to the process for sure…but the end result is so worth it…great job on this…you planned well.

  15. Gorgeous! It was worth the wait!

  16. TasteFood says:

    It looks great! Congratulations and happy cooking!

  17. my0wneyes says:

    It looks great. Love the look

  18. RoSy says:

    Looks a lot bigger & brighter. Sometime the color schemes & designs make a big difference. Enjoy your new kitchen!

  19. A huge congrats! It looks fantastic.

  20. It’s gorgeous! Love the layout and the cabinets.

  21. Holly says:

    I must say I have always loved picturing you in the green kitchen..
    But yep the new is gorgeous! Really nice worktops!! Got a very grown up feel!! Enjoy xx

  22. nancyc says:

    You did a great job on your kitchen!

  23. egg me on says:

    Looks awesome! Enjoy it!

  24. Cecile says:

    Wow Oh Wow Oh Wow!! I absolutely LOVE IT!! It’s so sleek and European looking – and now you have so much cabinet space. Yup – I’m jealous!! I love my “Provence inspired” kitchen but I don’t have nearly enough cabinet space. You’ve done a fine, fine job – simply amazing!!!!

  25. Karen says:

    I know you are happy to have a fully functioning kitchen again. Great jot!

Leave a Reply

