A Different Type of Oatmeal Cookie

Big and crispy

Big and crispy

I have always disliked oatmeal cookies due to the very soft consistency that almost always seems a little undercooked. If you like oatmeal cookies that way then these are not going to be anything like what you expect. These cookies are big plump and crispy, perfect for dipping into hot or cold beverages.

This is a basic recipe and almost any thing can be added as filler. I like dried fruit, chocolate chips and or other types of nuts but play with it your way. Do not use instant oats in this recipe.

Oatmeal Cookies

  • 3 cups regular oats
  • 1 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar packed
  • 1/2 cup regular sugar
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

In a mixing bowl beat the butter with the sugars until creamy. Add egg and vanilla and beat until smooth. Add baking soda, nuts, flour and oats and beat until mixed well. On a greased baking sheet spoon 1 tbsp of batter into a mound. Continue until sheet is filled leaving about 1/2″ between dough blobs. Bake at 350 degrees until cookies are browned on top and done in the center. Gently remove cookies from baking sheet and let cool on a drying rack. The cookies will be very fragile until they cool. Store in an airtight container.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Different Type of Oatmeal Cookie

  1. I’m a fan of dunkable cookies. And oatmeal cookies. I’ll try them!

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    My last oatmeal cookie was a soft date filled turnover but this cookie sounds quite nice as well. For some strange reason I’m tempted to throw some shredded coconut inside . :)

    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/159574.html

  3. I’ve been substituting a 5-grain hot cereal (from Bob’s Red Mill) in my oatmeal cookie/breakfast bar recipes – gives them a slightly different flavor, and they’re totally awesome. Crispy is ALWAYS the way to go with the cookies! :)

  4. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    I love oatmeal cookies, they always fool me into thinking that they are good for you! I’d like these dipped in chocolate and then dunked in my afternoon coffee.

Leave a Reply

