Creamy Stewed Chicken

Milk and tomatoes are a good pair

Milk and tomatoes are a good pair

This is a simple dish that takes advantage of the tenderness of chicken thighs. Serve this over pasta, polenta or rice. Use fresh tomato juice and buttermilk for the best flavors.

Chicken Stewed in Tomato Juice and Milk

  • 4 chicken thighs skinned and deboned
  • 2 ribs celery chopped fine
  • 1 cup onion chopped fine
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup tomato juice
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • 1 tbsp chopped oregano
  • Salt/pepper

In a large stock pot heat 1 tbsp butter with 1 tbsp olive oil. Saute onion over medium heat until golden then add celery and cook until soft. Add chicken and brown quickly. Add liquids and oregano and bring to a boil. Turn heat down to low and simmer partially covered until sauce is thickened and chicken almost falls apart, about 1 hour. Season with salt and pepper and serve hot.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Creamy Stewed Chicken

  1. sallybr says:

    We still seem to have some cold weather to go through (sigh), so this type of dish is more than welcome. I love chicken thighs, particularly when cooked long and slow. The texture of the skin is not crispy like a baked chicken, but nothing beats the juiciness of this type of preparation

    (Hope your hellnovation is going well)

  2. Kristy says:

    I bet that chicken was fabulously tender and juicy. Good stuff!

  3. Simple ingredients but all that you need. Looks delicious. I wonder if I could try this in a slow cooker? :-)

  4. I swear… I can smell the aroma.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    Buttermilk sounds like a healthy alternative to cream, which is what I was expecting! The tangy buttermilk would be also be great pairing with the chicken and tomato juice. I would serve this over some tasty Spätzle.

  6. Karen says:

    I’ve used buttermilk to tenderize chicken but never cooked it…I can’t wait to try your dish. I have to laugh…I’m posting a recipe using chicken thighs in a couple of days. We really are on the same wavelength with our cooking. You would think we shopped together, it is too funny. :)

  7. Simple dish. Thanks for sharing.

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    Never have tried stewing a chicken but this sure does seem like the way to do it, Greg. It really does sound good.

  9. laurasmess says:

    Ohhh. This looks like the ideal winter dish. Love everything about it.

  10. This sounds wonderful. Love the use of the buttermilk and I just happen to have some in my fridggie…

  11. Greetings! I’ve been following your website forr a long time
    now and finaloy got the courage to go aheasd and give
    you a shout out from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep
    up the good job!

Leave a Reply

