Crunchy Lemon Chicken

Much better than shake and bake

Much better than shake and bake

This recipe is adapted from the windykitchen blog and is perfect for a weekday or quick meal. It would work equally well for pork or fish.

Crunchy Lemon Chicken

  • 2 chicken breasts deboned
  • 3/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 3 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup grated Romano
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • Salt/pepper

Season meat with salt and pepper. Mix yogurt, parsley and lemon juice. Taste and adjust seasoning. Add meat and marinate in refrigerator for 1 hour or up to 24. Mix bread crumbs, cayenne and cheese. Season with salt and pepper. Dredge chicken into mixture and cover well. Place in a greased baking dish. Bake at 450 degrees until done, about 15 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Crunchy Lemon Chicken

  1. I like anything with lemon!

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    I’ve always heard that lemon zest has more lemony taste than juice. Would adding some zest to the breading work, do you think?

  3. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  4. I like that greek yogurt marinade.

  5. egg me on says:

    Aaaaaaamazing.

  6. I love the yogurt marinade. Use it often. Grat post!

  7. Lovely and healthy too!

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    Lemon is such a wonderful flavour in both sweet and savoury recipes and I really love lemon chicken. Adding the crunch is a great idea. I think I may have to do something like this with my left over turkey breast.

  9. Sounds and looks delicious.

  10. Bernice says:

    Looks fabulous! I love a crunchy crust.

  11. windykitchen says:

    Yum! Looks like this turned out great!!

  12. Kristy says:

    Better than shake and bake! LOL. No doubt. This looks tasty and right up the kids’ alley. :)

Leave a Reply

