Sunday Suppers: S is for Sorghum

We know those of you living outside the Southern U.S. may not be too familiar with sorghum. (Go ahead and Google it, we’ll wait.) But we also know the world is getting smaller and we figure if we can find golden syrup at our neighborhood Kroger, you can find sorghum where you are.

Here are three reasons to seek it out:

Kale and Pear Salad with Sorghum-Spiced Pecans

That is presentation

That is presentation

Sorghum Roasted Chicken

Save me the neck pa

Save me the neck pa

Pear Upside Down Cake with Sorghum

Perfect for breakfast

Perfect for breakfast

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Chicken, Dessert, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday Suppers: S is for Sorghum

  1. Love this roundup!

  2. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m intrigued! I’ll have to keep my eye open for it.

  3. The salad looks amazing – I could eat that all day! :-)

  4. You are singing my song with all this Sorghum! I think I have about 4 or 5 jars of various sorghums in my pantry right now and often add this very eccentric and wonderful flavor to cookies or cakes, but not so much for savory, but I really am looking forward to slathering some on the next chicken I roast.

  5. Michelle says:

    Hooray for sorghum! A friend of mine wrote a book about it, which is quite good if you ever come across it. http://amzn.to/1e52P6N

Leave a Reply

