Hummus

Throw on some cayenne if you want it spicy

Throw on some cayenne if you want it spicy

With kitchen renovations underway, we needed quick, cheap meals and snacks that could be prepped ahead. We made a batch of this just before the final demolition. Homemade is far cheaper and a lot tastier than store-bought.

Hummus

  • 3 cups garbanzo beans
  • 1/3 cup tahini paste
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • Salt/pepper

Soak beans in cold water overnight then bring to a boil and simmer until tender about 45 minutes. Strain beans reserving 1 cup juice. Puree garlic with lemon juice, beans and tahini in a blender. Blend adding enough olive oil and enough bean water to get the mixture to process. Taste hummus. Dump hummus in bowl and season to taste, adding more or less of each ingredient depending on the flavor of the first batch. If hummus is too thick add more bean liquid and olive oil. Make sure not to make the hummus too thin because there is no way to thicken it without more beans. Serve with pita bread.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hummus

  1. sallybr says:

    My favorite dip ever! We always have some in the fridge, and often make our own (particularly if we are having guests over for dinner). IN fact, this weekend I might make a batch of beet hummus just for fun

    Hope you both are doing great, although I know that doing great and renovations do not usually go together… ;-)

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    I love hummus. Some toasted pita wedges, a bowl of hummus and I’m all set.

  3. I do love hummus, but I don’t eat it enough to purchase tahini paste. Yours looks great, though!

  4. Make this for my husband who is on a special diet. He puts it on celery, spreads it on crackers. Absolutely less expensive…except the tahini…than store bought.

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    We just got a Nutri-bullet! No more store bought tahini! We even made our own PB and it’s delicious. I love hummus, so simple, yet delicious. I’ve made it with navy beans too, very tasty.

  6. SomerEmpress says:

    I’ll all in!! Kitchen remodel is almost complete but I still don’t have use of my stove, so this is perfect!! (I do have one of those one-burner plugins, so I can still swing it.) Thank you!

  7. chefconnie says:

    Lovely hummus…I think I need to make some today.

  8. I’ve never seen the soak and cook before, and I can’t help but wonder if you’re onto something here…Thanks again!

  9. This looks amazing!! Love the hummus idea! http://www.brittanyblum.com

  10. I came by way of “The Global Diva” and I’m sure glad I did.

  11. Pingback: Edamame Tahini Spread | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

