Quick Blueberry Sauce

Duck is so fantastic

Duck is so fantastic

I came up with this dish to impress Katherine one night. It involved a fancy polenta filled with mushrooms and truffle oil. Although the duck and the sauce were excellent, the polenta was a let down and it would have been better just to make the regular recipe. Sometimes there is no need to make something fancy, lesson learned. The sauce requires this blueberry jam and fresh beef stock.

The recipe uses wild duck breasts which are very lean. If using commercial duck breasts drain the fat after searing the breasts and reserve only a tablespoon or so. Wild duck breasts are also smaller so adjust the amount to feed four people.

Wild Duck with Blueberry Sauce

  • 6 wild-caught duck breasts
  • 1/2 cup blueberry jam
  • 2 cups beef stock
  • 1 cup dry red wine
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • Salt/pepper

Season duck breasts with salt and pepper and let sit for 30 minutes. In a saute pan large enough to hold all the duck melt butter over medium heat. Sear breasts until rare in the center, about three minutes per side. Remove duck to a plate and cover. Add stock and deglaze pan. Add jam and stir to incorporate then add wine. Cook sauce down until thickened, about 10 minutes. Return duck to pan and cook until breasts are warmed. Serve over polenta.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quick Blueberry Sauce

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    Your dish does look and sound pretty impressive even if some elements didn’t come up to your expectations.

    I’ve made polenta (mamaliga is how I grew up thinking of it) several times and have yet to find a recipe that really impressed me. I keep trying periodically. I’ve got a couple of whole ducks in my freezer … soon, I’ll have to do something with them. :)

  2. laurasmess says:

    I’ve never tried wild duck breasts… is the meat much different in terms of flavour? The polenta sounds nice but I definitely agree that simplicity is sometimes the best. Definitely want to try that blueberry sauce, we’ve got heaps of them in the shops here at the moment.

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    I thought the polenta was food gras! I have a couple of duck breasts in the freezer, as well as blueberries!

  4. Love how versatile your recipe is! Looks delicious.

  5. Love it” “Duck is so fantastic.”

Leave a Reply

