The Demo is Done

Actually this is the final kitchen we are going for the backwoods look

Actually this is the final kitchen we are going for the backwoods look

I have finally gotten all the damage and old stuff out. I wish the folks who built this house had not cut so many corners. I mean why couldn’t there be a coat of prime on the drywall even if it was covered by cabinets or an ugly formica backsplash. Then maybe it wouldn’t have had to be replaced when that stuff was removed. I guess I was lucky that they did not wallpaper like in the original bathrooms.

Anyway now that everything is destroyed it is time to build. We started with the plaster.

Lucky the fit does not have to be perfect

Lucky the fit does not have to be perfect

Just cut out some fresh drywall and screw it in place.

Those gaps look pretty good

Those gaps look pretty good

Slap on some adhesive drywall tape around all the edges that are cut. I also used the tape to patch a bunch of holes where the builders got lazy. No wonder ants were always getting in.

Lick of paint here and a lick of paint there

Lick of paint here and a lick of paint there

Then just apply many coats of joint compound over every bit of trouble. Sand it smooth and paint it. Next step: replacing the sliding glass door with a door that doesn’t really suck.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in How to, Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Demo is Done

  1. sallybr says:

    Greg, don’t even get me started on “cutting corners” – the flooring on our dining room could not even deserve to be called “wood” – they cut corners while building this house in so many ways it’s not even funny! It adds a lot of money to any home improvement project, but…. such is life.

    don’t be discouraged, it will all work out great in the end…

  2. cecilia says:

    Oh MY! Poor you.. what are you going to cook in now!? Do you have a kitchen tent? c

  3. Kristy says:

    I wish one of us had a handy bone in our bodies. I can ‘t wait to see how this turns out. So excited for you!

  4. Ooh! I am thrilled for you, and excited to see how it turns out! We acquired a 1920 bungalow in August, and we’ve found our share of surprises!

  5. Raymund says:

    Soon you will have a nice kitchen!

  6. It’s coming along – it’s going to be amazing!

  7. I really love post about Kitchen revamps..this is great

  8. Good job! Just think… you’re making it your own.

  9. Remodeling a kitchen is always a reason for excitement, so I’m glad that I stumbled across your site – I will be back for updates for sure!

  10. Cecile says:

    This post just cracked me up – I loved your comment about soon having a door that doesn’t ‘suck’! Wow – you are REALLY doing everything over. Thanks for sharing this with us. Can’t wait to see how it comes along. I redid my kitchen last year around this time – not major like what you’re doing – but things that made a big difference. Since we spend so much time in our kitchens, it’s important that we love them! (When you’re done, can you come over and figure out how to give me more counter space?)

  11. spree says:

    I love projects like this – Especially when they don’t involve my kitchen! Anxious to see the transformation! Good luck, stay calm, have fun!

  12. Eva Taylor says:

    That does bring back some memories! Nicely done, now I know who to call to patch my drywall (well, we have more plaster than drywall, so you’re probably safe, for now!).
    The door replacement is very exciting, it really changes the look of the place; we replaced a very sucky sliding glass door at the cottage a couple of years ago with French doors and LOVE it. I’m very excited for you both.

  13. Sherry says:

    the process is a pain, the results will be worth it.

  14. A_Boleyn says:

    Scary and thinking about the work that my own house needs, well, avoidance is best for now.

    Best of luck and I’ll look forward to seeing your finished result.

  15. Rachel says:

    What a way to start the new year! I know you’ll love it when it is done, though… hang in there~!

  16. Karen says:

    I know you have to be thrilled that the destruction is completed and the mess is behind you. It looks like the construction of your new kitchen is well underway. Now if you can only get out all of the dust in your house. :)

Leave a Reply

