Mashed Turnips and Potatoes with Horseradish

I know you want that lamb too

I know you want that lamb too

These potatoes were excellent, but severely overshadowed by the lamb on the table. Poor little lonely potatoes. The recipe is adapted from this one originally in Gourmet. We felt a one-to-one ratio of potatoes to turnips would be too high and wanted to add a bit of milk to make the dish creamier.

Mashed Turnips and Potatoes with Horseradish

  • 2 1/2 lbs Russet potatoes
  • 1 lb turnips
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup bottled horseradish
  • salt/pepper

Peel and boil potatoes and turnips together (whole is fine) until fork tender. Mash with butter, buttermilk, and horseradish. Stir in parsley and salt and pepper to taste.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mashed Turnips and Potatoes with Horseradish

  1. sallybr says:

    Potatoes and horseradish are great together… but even that combo might be demoted to second place with a nice lamb dish next to it.. :-)

    Such is life!

  2. I bought turnips today because of you :)

  3. Turnips! That is brilliant.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    I haven’t had turnip in years…must explore that veg again, and this recipe is right where I need to start. Love potatoes and horseradish! Super yum!

  5. Pingback: Magret de Canard with Baby Turnips in Butter Sauce | Cooking in Sens

  6. Michelle says:

    Aren’t turnips good? I can hardly believe I’m saying that as I always HATED them as a kid when my grandmother tried to force them on me. But, when small, they can be quite delicious.

Leave a Reply

