Sunday Suppers: To Bring Wealth and Health

With the new year around the corner here are some nontraditional options using black eyed peas and turnip greens.

Pan Fried Perch on a bed of Greens

It's like a boat of fish floating on a sea of greens

It’s like a boat of fish floating on a sea of greens

Venison and Turnip Green Frittata

I'll take another slice of bambi

I’ll take another slice of bambi

Black Eyed Pea Cakes

Looks like someone has made a surpirse visit for dinner

Looks like someone has made a surprise visit for dinner

Black Eyed Pea Stew

Add more spice if you prefer it hotter

Add more spice if you prefer it hotter

May the new year be lucky for y’all.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Suppers: To Bring Wealth and Health

  1. Ruth says:

    Aww my daughter just asked me today what ever happened with my Flat Ruthie blogging. She really had a wild time in so many places. But seems to be on hiatus until tonight……….
    who should appear? Good ole FR. Thanks for the fun pic today. All the best in 2014.

  2. Love the idea of the venison and turnips together as well as the black eyed pea cakes. Both look super yum! Happy New Year to you!

  3. Your fish recipe photo is just so pretty. The black eyed pea stew looks divine and thanks for sharing. Happy New Year.

  4. Karen says:

    I hope you and Katherine have a wonderful New Year, Greg. I just cooked my ham hocks today for the meat and broth to go into my black eyed peas for New Years day. Must have them for luck for next year.

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Another great Sunday dinner, Greg. I’ll be making lentils for dinner on New Year’s Eve, with a few grapes at midnight. I hope you and Katherine share a New Year filled with joy.

  6. egg me on says:

    Wealth and health are exactly what I’m looking for. Happy 2014 guys!

Leave a Reply

