Twelve Days of Christmas: Peanut Butter Balls

Merry Arbor Day

Merry Arbor Day

These babies have just four ingredients. They come together quickly and are crowd pleasers. Who doesn’t like peanut butter and chocolate? (If you’re allergic to either just don’t answer that!)

Of course, we know with the word balls in the title that some of you will have to suppress a giggle. So the video below is for you. (We’re not looking at you Tommy!)

Peanut Butter Balls

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup peanut butter (smooth or chunky)
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 6 oz semi sweet or dark chocolate

In a large bowl, mix melted butter, sugar and peanut butter until incorporated. Line a baking sheet with wax paper. Form peanut butter mix into half inch balls. Pop in the refrigerator for a few seconds while you make the chocolate. Melt the remaining butter and chocolate over low heat. Dip balls into chocolate and return to baking sheet. Refrigerate until the chocolate is set (about an hour) and ready to serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Twelve Days of Christmas: Peanut Butter Balls

  1. We call them Buckeyes. I think it’s a regional thing. They are yummy!

  2. Ruth says:

    Sweet ! Love the SNL clip, too. Have a happy Christmas.

  3. egg me on says:

    I really love your (chocolate peanut butter) balls. (Seriously, I do. My family makes something similar but we mix rice krispies into the peanut butter.)

  4. rumpydog says:

    I love that skit!

  5. One of my all time favorite SNL clips. The balls look tasty too!

  6. sallybr says:

    You will hate me for this, but I don’t care for peanut butter, unless it is used in savory dishes, a peanut sauce or dressing… sorry! Now, I am married to a peanut butter fanatic, so of course I would make these for him! Anything for love!

  7. TasteFood says:

    These are dangerous – perfect for the holidays.

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    Not only are they quick, they look fantastic! I may have to splurge and make a batch of these to enjoy on Christmas Eve!

  9. I LOVE that skit!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Mom made these and I never did find her recipe. These will do very nicely instead. Thanks, Greg!

  11. These look great, Greg! :-) I bet they would work with Nutella, too. Delicious. Best – Shanna

Leave a Reply

