Poached Pears with Chocolate and Wine Sauce

Those pears are kissing where are the censors

Those pears are about to get it on

This dessert is a great way to use up sweet wine that may be a bit past its prime. Even if you skimp on the wine, go for broke on the chocolate.

Poached Pears with Chocolate and Wine Sauce

  • 1 bottle inexpensive sweet wine, such as a late-harvest riesling or moscato
  • 4 ripe pears skinned and cored
  • 2 sticks cinnamon
  • 6 whole cloves
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate, chopped

Empty wine in a stock pot and add cinnamon sticks and whole cloves. Bring to a simmer and add pears. Cook until a knife pierces through each pear easily, about 25 minutes. Remove pears from pan reserving cooking liquid. Combine chocolate with 1/3 cup of the cooking liquid in a small saucepan. Whisk together over medium heat until combined. Drizzle over pears.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Poached Pears with Chocolate and Wine Sauce

  1. sallybr says:

    I cannot find the right words…. this is too too too good!

    (and I love that you used the same plate we have…. ;-)

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Delicious and decadent. Reminds me of my last New Year’s day dessert. :)

    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/121322.html#

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    It’s not even cocktail hour here and you have me licking my lips. Perfectly festive drink roundup. Nicely done, as usual my friend. Cheers!

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    How I wish I had seen this recipe before I attempted that tarte tartain a couple weeks ago. This is every bit as special but so much easier to prepare. And it has chocolate. Enuf said. :)

  5. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Spring Chicken Part Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

