Homemade Ricotta

That is some firm and creamy cheese

That is some firm and creamy cheese

This is a very easy cheese to make and takes very little time. Below is a simple step by step.

After crunching the cost of the ingredients and time versus buying already prepared the store bought came out $.75 cheaper. The homemade version won in taste, texture and everything else. From this point forward I plan to make all my ricotta by scratch. Thanks to Chicago John for the inspiration.

The starting point

The starting point

Cheese cloth is easily available at most grocery stores. When finished with it just gently hand wash and air dry it for multiple uses.

Ricotta

  • 1 gallon whole milk
  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tbsp non-iodized table salt or finely ground sea salt
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

You will also need a large stock pot, strainer, colander and cheese cloth.

That is boiling

That is boiling

Bring milk, cream and salt to a heavy boil over medium heat. Stir often to keep the milk from scorching. Once a hard boil starts add the lemon juice and cook for two minutes, or until whey separates from the solids, stirring constantly.

Scoop away

Scoop away

Remove from heat and scoop cheese solids from liquid with a fine strainer. Spoon into a colander lined with two layer of cheese cloth.

That is looking yummy

That is looking yummy

Keep straining the cheese out of the whey. Allow the cheese to drain for about 10 minutes in the sink.

All bundled up

All bundled up

Wrap the ricotta in the cheese cloth and place the colander in a large bowl. Place everything in the refrigerator and let drain completely. After four hours the cheese is ready, but for a firmer final product let ricotta stay overnight. This recipe makes two pounds of finished cheese. Store in an airtight container for up to two weeks in the refrigerator.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, How to, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Homemade Ricotta

  1. Cecile says:

    I so psyched with this post. I love making things from scratch (even if it isn’t every single time). Your ricotta looks fabulous! Totally different from store bought ricotta. I can’t wait to try it. (Thanks Chgo John for inspiring this – I hadn’t seen your post from 2009 about making ricotta)

  2. Cecile says:

    Question – I noticed John used vinegar in his recipe. I do like the idea of using lemon juice – what made you decide to use lemon juice?

  3. sallybr says:

    I ve had that post from Chicago John bookmarked to try, but you beat me to it…. luscious! I must make it?…

  4. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  5. A_Boleyn says:

    Beautiful cheese, Greg. Other than the addition of whipping cream and salt, the recipe/procedure seems identical to the way I make paneer cheese. I use plain white vinegar rather than lemon juice as it’s more consistent as to acidity level and I always have a big jug in the house. I’d leave out the salt though if I were to use it to fill my cannoli. :)

  6. I make a similar version all the time. My favorite!!

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    I love how easy home made ricotta is and yours turned out beautifully. Did you try to squeeze anything more out of the whey? There are several websites that instruct you to cook down the whey and from that you can even yield a bit more ricotta! I tried it when I made paneer and there was nothing more to be had.

  8. Karen says:

    I’ll always go for taste of cost any day…nice job Greg.

  9. Michelle says:

    Nice. We went on a cheese-making cook a few years ago when a friend was providing us with raw milk. So fun, and delicious too.

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Welcome to the club, Greg! I’m glad you tried and liked the cheese. Thanks, too, for the shout-out. Now, when are you going to make some mascarpone? :)

  11. Caroline says:

    Yummm ricotta is one of my favorites….looks awesome! I think one of my New Year’s resolutions will be to make cheese from scratch–still haven’t tackled that.

  12. egg me on says:

    Yowza! You make it looks so easy. Love that Kroger milk in there.

  13. Nothing like making your own…

  14. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: The Best Cheesecake | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

