Preserved Lemons

There are a lot of lemons stuffed in there

Next time I will use a wide mouth canning jar. Yes my hand got stuck a few times packing the lemons in

Preserved lemons are a great staple for many different Indian dishes. I also like to use them in drinks and any dish that may need a nice lemon kick. A lot of recipes call for Meyer lemons, which would be best, but regular work just fine. When done they will keep in the refrigerator for some time.

Preserved Lemons

  • Large wide mouth canning jar
  • Kosher salt
  • 4-6 lemons
  • Additional lemon juice

Wash lemons well and dry off. Wash out canning jar and then sterilize in boiling water for 10 minutes. Air dry jar for a few minutes. Cut lemons into quarters but do not cut all the way through the bottom. The lemons should open like petals but still be whole. Pour 1 tbsp salt in bottom of jar. Take a lemon press it open and rub liberally with salt. Press closed and jam into jar. Repeat with other lemons pressing each tightly into jar to release juices. Pack jar to 1/4″ to lid. If juice covers the lemons then seal it tightly. If not fill jar with additional lemon juice then seal. Leave on the counter for 3 days shaking jar twice a day. Place in refrigerator and continue shaking once a day until lemon peel is soft, about 1-2 weeks. Store finished lemons in refrigerator.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Indian, Recipes, Things in Jars, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Preserved Lemons

  1. Cecile says:

    I always thought preserving lemons would be difficult – this looks really easy – thanks!

  2. This is something that I try never to be without….I just checked in the fridge and I am. Good reminder,,,thanks;)

  3. Sherry says:

    these are so useful. Thanks!

  4. cecilia says:

    I have always wanted to have a gorgeous jar of preserved lemons on the bench, now all i need is some lemons! c

  5. I have been intending to try this as well. I just am not sure what if I will actually used them after I make them? How are you using them? Great post.

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    I made preserved lemons for the first time about a year ago. What a treat! I look forward to seeing how you use them, Greg. I’ve not done much with mine.

  7. I really need to get off my butt and attempt these. Thanks for what looks like a fairly simple and straightforward recipe.

  8. Pingback: Have you meet Rufus … and his Moroccan Chicken? | the global diva

  9. Pingback: Baked Chicken with Preserved Lemons | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  10. Pingback: The Lemon Preservation Society | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

