Hearts of Romaine with Blue Cheese and Bacon

Romain lettuce makes this healthy right

Romaine lettuce makes this healthy right

This dish makes a nice side with steak or can be a meal in itself. If serving as a starter or side, one heart of romaine will serve two people. The dressing is tangy and a bit addictive. Splurge on good blue cheese.

Hearts of Romaine with Blue Cheese and Bacon

  • 2-3 hearts of romaine
  • 2-4 slices bacon, browned and crumbled
  • 2 oz blue cheese, crumbled
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • dash hot pepper sauce
  • black pepper to taste

Mix cheese, buttermilk, yogurt, lemon juice and hot sauce together in a shallow bowl. Season with black pepper to taste. Drizzle each heart of romaine with desired amount of dressing and sprinkle with crumbled bacon.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dinner, Food, Pork, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hearts of Romaine with Blue Cheese and Bacon

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    The salad looks delicious. Just wish I was a bigger fan of blue cheese.

  2. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  3. cecilia says:

    I honestly could eat this every day, esp with my own blue cheese mayo.. and my own bacon come to think of it, I love romaine lettuce.. c

  4. One of our favorites. In the summer we do the same with iceberg lettuce cut it into 1/4 ‘s and drizzle the dressing over the lettuce and bacon and we add fresh cherry tomatoes and red onion.

  5. On the recipe you forgot to add yogurt after the 1/4 cup measurement

  6. Karen says:

    I do love blue cheese and bacon on a salad…it is a great way to get people to eat their greens. :)

  7. This is one of my favorite things to eat, although I must admit, I always add carrots and radishes as well.

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    Hi! I know I haven’t been around for a bit but I’ve been swamped with getting my new ‘career’ off the ground. I have tried to comment on my iPhone but the silly phone was hungry and ate my comment before I could submit it. Sigh.
    I love a simple salad like this, but I URGE you to try grilling the hearts of romaine, it’s absolutely INCREDIBLE. Just rub the romaine with a little EVOO and finely minced garlic emulsion and you’re off to the races. It really makes the salad EXTRAORDINARY.

  9. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Steakhouse Favorites | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

