Apple Cranberry Jam

I can never have enough cranberries

I can never have enough cranberries

This is an easy jam to make and since both the cranberries and apples are loaded with natural pectin it cooks very quick and yields a lot. It also is a great stocking stuffer or present for a coworker. I used an assortment of honey crisp, Fuji and red delicious apples for the sweet part. For how to can go here.

Apple Cranberry Jam

  • 12 oz fresh cranberries (3 cups)
  • 2 cups granny smith apples peeled, cored and chopped into small dice
  • 6 cups assorted sweet apples peeled, cored and chopped into small dice
  • 1 lemon
  • 4 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tbsp minced fresh ginger

Add everything but water and lemon to a large pot. Zest the lemon and add to pot. Bring to a boil over medium high heat and cook until soupy, about 5 minutes. Add juice from lemon and water and bring to a boil. Cook jam down until thick, mashing any large chunks, about 15 minutes tops. Pour into prepared jars and seal. Place any jars that do not seal in the refrigerator. Let jam set for about a month before eating.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dessert, Food, Recipes, Things in Jars and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Apple Cranberry Jam

  1. G’day and yum! I was curious where you obtained the fresh cranberries from! Thank you!

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Beautiful jars of jam. Although I’d be unlikely to eat enough to make my own, I’d love to give the combination a taste.

  3. Jueseppi B. says:

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

  4. cecilia says:

    aha, of course! thank you.. c

  5. cecilia says:

    aha, of course! thank you.. c

  6. Sherry says:

    another keeper for sure!

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    Last week I did a breakfast shoot and had to buy strawberries, blueberries and raspberries…to the tune of $400! Now I’m super ticked off that I didn’t bring any left-overs home, I could have so made berry jam. Damn!

  8. laurasmess says:

    We can’t get fresh cranberries here in Australia, just dried ones as far as I know. Love the look of this shiny red jam. I can imagine how good the tart and sweet combo would be.

  9. Love it! As a jam and canning lover this one is just fantastic and fun and seasonal and all things good.

  10. Pingback: O Christmas Treats! | bake me away!

Leave a Reply

