Bagels and Lox

By Katherine

There is no comparison to fresh bagels

There is no comparison to fresh bagels

When Greg thinks of bagels and lox, he thinks of thinly sliced smoked salmon layered on a bagel slathered with cream cheese. Don’t get me wrong, that sounds amazing. But, me? I always think of pink cream cheese. Less gourmet, but super tasty.

He’s made his own smoked salmon in the past, but we used store-bought here. Greg made the bagels from scratch using a recipe in The Bread Bible. We’re not posting that recipe because everyone should own that book and we didn’t adapt the recipe at all. Also, he says he’s still working on his technique. Savory Salty Sweet has a great adaptation of classic bialys also from Rose Levy Beranbaum’s masterpiece.

Lox Spread

  • 8 oz neufchatel or cream cheese, at room temp
  • 3-4 oz smoked salmon, chopped
  • 1 tbsp salted capers
  • 1 tsp dried dill or 1 tbsp fresh dill
  • squeeze lemon juice

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Stir well to incorporate.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bagels and Lox

  1. We love a good bagel, but they’re hard to buy here, so we make our own. Cream cheese, smoke salmon and capers is a classic – I’m with Greg though, I like a lot of cream cheese! Your version is very elegant though, Katherine! :)

  2. cecilia says:

    Best i get out there and buy the bread bible then! morning katherine.. c

  3. I love bagels and lox. This looks great!

  4. Ruth says:

    Made his own bagels? I have to lie down! You two are inspiring

  5. I’m with you, Katherine…I love the flavors, but I’d much rather pre-chop the salmon than bite into a whole piece. Nice spread!

  6. Looks delicious! And the bagel too ;)

  7. Now I have an urge for bialys with cream cheese and lox!

  8. I’ve never thought to put salmon and cream cheese in a bagel on their own… I think I’ll attack the bagel making first then give this a go.

Leave a Reply

