Busted Oven Baked Pasta

By Katherine

That is a landscape

That is a landscape

It had been awhile since I made a nice dinner for Greg, so I decided to splurge on some nice ricotta (Chicago John we will make our own soon) and use up some prosciutto. But first I needed to get some ash and debris out of the bottom of the oven that was leftover from cleaning. And that’s when things went horribly wrong as the TV journalists like to say. Apparently a heating element should only be lifted so high. Big spark. Big yell. Big bill?

Greg said without a hint of irony: “You’re lucky you weren’t electrocuted.” Thankfully we have friends who live in the neighborhood who let us use their kitchen. Still, I think the universe is telling me to leave the pasta to Greg.

Baked Rigatoni with Ricotta, Peas and Prosciutto

  • 1 lb rigatoni, cooked slightly less than al dente
  • 8 oz mushrooms, quartered
  • 2 oz prosciutto, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp white wine
  • 6 oz frozen peas
  • 1/2 cup Romano, plus extra for the top
  • 2 oz mozzarella
  • 15 oz ricotta
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp oregano
  • salt/pepper
  • olive oil

Heat about a tablespoon of olive oil in large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and give a quick stir. Add mushrooms and give a quick stir. Add wine to keep them from sticking. Cook mushrooms until they release their water, about five minutes. Add prosciutto and cook until crisp, about two minutes. Stir in peas and cook until warmed through, about two or three minutes. Set aside. In a large bowl, mix ricotta, 1/2 cup Romano, cream, egg, oregano and salt and pepper to taste. Stir in pasta until well coated. Mix in meat and vegetable mix. Pour into a 9 by 13 pan. Top with mozzarella and dust with more Romano. Cook at 350 until heated through, about 20 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Busted Oven Baked Pasta

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I’m glad nothing more serious than breaking the heating element happened. The pasta dish sounds very tasty. Did the friend mention mean that you baked the pasta in their stove?

  2. sallybr says:

    So glad you were not harmed, apart from the huge shot of adrenaline that I’m sure flowed through your system big time! ;-)

    great looking pasta, I am also thinking of making my own ricotta sometime, hopefully soon….

  3. Ruth says:

    Glad you are okay. The pasta looks excellent

  4. nijah06 says:

    That Looks Delicious I wish I can some

  5. Been there, done that…the oven-thing, that is. That was when I learned I could actually UNPLUG the heating element. At least Greg didn’t laugh at you, like my ex did to me…
    Fabulous pasta :D

    • Cecile says:

      No kidding… it can be taken out? And all these years I’ve been trying to clean “around” it? That does make sense though, because the heating elements come out of the stove!

  6. egg me on says:

    Oh gees! The things we do for supper. Glad you’re okay, and it seems the pasta turned out just fine.

  7. Eek – glad you’re ok though! Great pasta dish and well worth making even with a fully functioning oven :)

  8. Cecile says:

    I’m still a bit freaked out that we almost “lost you”!! Wow – that was scary… Glad you’re OK.
    This pasta recipe looks fabulous…. but I don’t plan to make my own ricotta any time soon. (Sorry Chogo John!)
    Just a moment ago I printed out “jjbegonia’s” recent recipe for baked rigatoni with red sauce and chicken. And I’m going to print this recipe as ’cause I’m going to shop for the ingredients for BOTH recipes!

  9. Kristy says:

    Oh! I hate scares like that. One is too many. Glad you’re okay. I’m sure this comforting dish fit the bill. :)

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Having seen the next post, I’ll steer clear of the oven thing altogether, other than to say I’m glad you weren’t hurt, Kathryn. I love peas and prosciutto in pasta, adding ricotta — even store-bought :) — would add a nice creaminess. This is a good dish and it will be perfect for any number of the cold days ahead.

  11. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: One Dish Wonders | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

