Sunday Suppers: Calling All Hunters

Hunting season is upon us, which means we’ll be bartering with all our hunting friends. Greg has considered taking up hunting, but buying a gun, paying for safety classes and club memberships (public land can get crowded) all adds up. It’s also a pretty big time commitment. Coming by duck is harder than venison, since the yield is smaller. But wild-caught duck is a treat. Venison is wonderful too. So we’ll keep bribing friends, perhaps with meals like this.

For Starters

Pancetta-Wrapped Dates with Ricotta Salata

For Pete's sake get your mind out of the gutter

For Pete’s sake get your mind out of the gutter

For the Main

Duck Breast with a Peppercorn Cream Sauce

The fat is not optional

The fat is not optional

Or…

Tenderloin of Venison with Blackberry Sauce

Holy tasty Bambi Batman

Holy tasty Bambi Batman

On the side:

Twice Cooked Potatoes

Steam me up Scotty

Steam me up Scotty

For Dessert:

Apple Pie

I can eat pie anytime of the day or night

I can eat pie anytime of the day or night

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dessert, Dinner, Food, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday Suppers: Calling All Hunters

  1. I can eat pie at any time of the day and night as well. :)

  2. Eva Taylor says:

    Version is JTs fav. I just can’t get passed the Bambi part.

  3. Marvelous suggestions!! Can’t think of anything better :)

  4. I think I want the Venison!

  5. Mere Frost says:

    Great recipes! Our deer hunting season hasn’t started yet. Bow hunting now, but we don’t get to go until the first or second Friday of November. We only got a gratis this year. So I am hoping that Kevin gets one!!!! I used to get one too, along with his and our gratis. The deer population has been down so this year I guess I will be walking the trees! It’s good exercise! :D
    Getting short on summer sausage!!!! LOL Thank you! Used to raise pekin ducks, but got tired of it! Too much of a good thing!!! ;) That goes for my geese as well!

  6. Hmm…Arkansans do love hunting. Oh, well. Tasty looking dishes!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    This was a great round-up, Greg. One of these days I’m going to find a source for venison. Until then, I’ll just come over every now and again to drool a bit. :)

  8. The venison tenderloin looks amazing. I really enjoy elk tenderloin… have you tried it? Best – Shanna

Leave a Reply

