Tequila Old Fashioneds

It looks like an impressionist painting

It looks like an impressionist painting

While we never tire of margaritas, we do enjoy other tequila and mezcal cocktails. This one is a strong one. Eat an extra taco or two.

Tequila Old Fashioneds

  • 1 1/2 ounces Reposado tequila
  • 1/2 ounce Mezcal
  • 1 tsp simple syrup
  • 2 dashes chocolate or orange bitters

Throw a few ice cubes in a tumbler. Shake in the bitters. Add simple syrup and liquors. Stir. Garnish with an orange rind or cherries.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Mexican, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tequila Old Fashioneds

  1. nrhatch says:

    Huzzah! I don’t know if you saw this post when posted, but it might pique your interest:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/tequila-mockingbird/

  2. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m not a big tequila fan so I’ll pass on this one. Happy Thursday and cheers Greg!

  3. Caroline says:

    I’d definitely need to eat a few extra tacos after drinking this! Sounds great.

  4. A_Boleyn says:

    You’re my booze inspiration. I just have to stock up on things like those cute picks to dress up my few attempts at making cocktails. I’ve expanded my drinks cabinet since I started reading your blog with vodka and Marsala wine (for making cannoli shells) and hope to pick up gin in the near future. Long Island Iced Tea is in my future. The link is to a few of my cocktail attempts. :) It’s been fun.

    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/tag/drink

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Pass Eva’s drink over here. Wouldn’t want to see it go to waste.

Leave a Reply

