The Fall Garden

What will the winter hold

What will the winter hold

This year I am attempting a fall garden. I put in a late crop of spinach and arugula and hope to harvest by mid November. With the crazy weather that has been going on who knows if the plants will still be producing through December.

That would be nice.

Aside from the planting of garlic and carrots for next spring I added fava beans. The plants are coming up a little too soon though, so I may be replanting the fava beans late February with the spring crop of spinach and arugula. It will all depend on how well the plants cope with the short but cold winter season here. I am hoping there will be only a few days of frozen ground but time will tell. Not to mention I may get to harvest fava beans this fall as well. Also the tomatoes are still producing.

I do not understand the weather this year

I do not understand the weather this year

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, How to and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Fall Garden

  1. Very envious of your vegetable garden. Looks great;)

  2. My tomatoes are all raggedy, but still producing…If you’ve got the space, try a little Swiss Chard – it takes the cold better than the spinach, and will start growing again any time it gets above 50 :)

  3. TasteFood says:

    Good luck with the garden – the upside to a warmer climate!

  4. Cecile says:

    Well. “aren’t we just full of energy?” ; o ) You never fail to amaze me Rufus. Do you ever sleep? And I’m jealous you don’t live in New England, like I do, where everything’s gonna freeze soon…

  5. nrhatch says:

    I just finished reading “A Rich Spot of Earth” about the veggie gardens at Monticello ~ Thomas Jefferson grew veggies for most of the year due to a micro-climate he created on the south facing side of the mountain in Virginia ~ above the soft frost line that settled in the valley early and late in the year, but well below the heavy snow line.

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    You’ve still got tomatoes on the vine? From what you’ve sad in the past, that really is incredible. Hope you have similar luck with the new plantings.

  7. FIngers crossed for a good crop – ours was still going fairly strong when we left Spain a week ago!

  8. Andrea says:

    Hope yours works out well. We’re starting on in our greenhouse this weekend and we’re hoping for the best too!

  9. We’ve had bizarre weather over here as well. Scorching hot Spring following a very mild Winter – so many plants are completely confused. We’re on the other side of the world, and our tomatoes look like yours! :) Hope the Autumn (as we call it here) plantings all go well!

Leave a Reply

