Sunday Suppers: Falltastic

As we’re writing this, it doesn’t feel much like autumn here. Yesterday’s high was 88, which isn’t so bad except for the humidity and the poor air flow in our house. Crank on the oven a few times and oy vey. But we are awash in apples and yearning for fall weather so we’ll have to whip up meals like this and dab the sweat from our foreheads.

Wild Mushroom Soup

Happiness in a bowl

Happiness in a bowl

Pork Chops with Apples

Looks like some parsley is escaping

Looks like some parsley is escaping

Polenta and Olive Oil Cake with Date Syrup

It's like a funny, brown hat

It’s like a funny, brown hat

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Food, Pork, Soups and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Suppers: Falltastic

  1. Feels less fall-ish here, too, with the temps in the upper 70′s, but we’re craving fall flavors, too. Love that soup!

  2. Mere Frost says:

    Rufus! Your Wild Mushroom Soup looks spectacular! I can eat this! So excited! I am gluten intolerant so when I find a delicious recipe I am so happy! Thank you! :D

  3. Well, fall has arrived over night with temps in the upper 50′s this morning. Love your Sunday Suppers always filled with inspiration. These will join others in my Sunday Suppers folder. Thank you.

  4. Mere Frost says:

    Cold and rainy here. We need the rain as we have been in drought for the past two years. I am in farm country out in North Dakota! That mushroom soup is going to warm us up! Temp this am. is 39…brrrrrr…..

  5. It didn’t feel like fall but yesterday but it is starting to today… I made pear butter and it helped get me in the fall spirit. Love the soup recipe. I’ll have to try it soon.

  6. nrhatch says:

    It still feels like summer here . . . but early mornings and late evenings are cooling down.

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    It’s totally autumn weather in these parts. I’ll take some of your hot temps for sure! Love that mushroom soup!

  8. Yes, it’s about that time again for mushroom soup!

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Falltastic is right, Greg. This would make a great meal.

  10. TasteFood says:

    Lovely food for my favorite season.

Leave a Reply

