Eggplant and Feta “Pizzas”

By Katherine

We are really into feta lately

We are really into feta lately

This is ridiculously easy, but also super tasty. A few times a week, I eat at the hospital next door to my work. It’s quick, cheap and the owners have made an effort to serve healthy food. I stole this idea from them. It’s one of my favorite side dishes. The only way to mess it up is to add too much salt, which they’ve done on occasion. Before they went healthy, their nickname was the salt palace and I guess old habits die hard.

I didn’t use any salt in mine, since feta is already a fairly salty cheese. Salt as you see fit.

Eggplant and Feta “Pizzas”

  • 1 small eggplant, sliced in half then in two- to three inch slices
  • 2-3 ounces feta (fat free or reduced fat will work fine)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh oregano
  • 1-2 tsp breadcrumbs

Mix feta, oregano, black pepper and oil in a small bowl. Place eggplant on a broiler pan and divide topping among the slices. Dust with breadcrumbs. Roast for 30 minutes at 350. Serve warm.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Garden, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Eggplant and Feta “Pizzas”

  1. Zo Zhou says:

    Uh, genius! So simple but so delicious.

  2. Now eating at a hospital must have its perks to healthy eating. How convenient.

  3. Andrea says:

    OMG I love this! The veg heads in my house will go crazy for this!

  4. TasteFood says:

    Great idea. I am always into feta.

  5. They look delicious!

  6. Purely.. Kay says:

    I love a easy recipe.. and this looks absolutely delicious Katherine

  7. Bernice says:

    I love feta and this looks wonderful!!

  8. This is truly a genius idea!
    I love the feta eggplant combination

  9. I made these this weekend and they were great. Simple, easy, delicious! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

