Roast Pork with Apples

Who needs a roasting rack when there is perfectly good fruit on hand

Who needs a roasting rack when there is perfectly good fruit on hand

Apples are starting to come back into season and this is a great way to cook a pork tenderloin for a large group. The fat really makes the carrots and apples taste wonderful.

Roast Pork Tenderloin with Apples and Carrots

  • 1 4-5 lb pork tenderloin
  • 5 apples cored and sliced in half (galas or fujis work best)
  • 10 carrots cut into large chunks
  • 6 tbsp fresh rosemary chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp sea salt
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Black pepper

Grind rosemary, salt, garlic, pepper and oil together to form a paste. Spread paste all over pork and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate pork for at least 4 hours and up to 24. In a large roasting pan arrange apples cut side up with carrots. Place pork on top of apples and roast at 365 degrees until done, about 2 hours. Remove meat from pan and let rest 15 minutes before slicing. Serve with apples and carrots.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Pork, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Roast Pork with Apples

  1. niasunset says:

    Apple is a great one for the kitchen… This should be so delicious. Thanks and Love, nia

  2. Absolutely gorgeous and very autumnal!

  3. Cecile says:

    Love this!! You know… it seems that people don’t cook pork roast as much as they used to. I haven’t made one in years….. what have I been thinking?! I also love the idea of cooking the roast with apples & carrots. I think, when I make this (which I hope is soon) I’m gonna add some sliced onion as well. (Maybe a bit later ’cause I don’t want them to burn.) A great post Rufus !!

  4. Karen says:

    Roasted fruit goes so well with pork. Yours looks delicious with all the chopped rosemary on top. The trees in our orchard are loaded with apples this year.

  5. I have apples and tons of rosemary, now I just need to go get the pork!

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    Now that just screams autumn to me, pork and apples are a perfect combo. We’re going through a heat wave for a couple of days, but I’ll take it, autumn is just around the corner.

  7. The inclusion of apples really sounds fantastic.

  8. Don’t you just love creating recipes this time of year? Fall has the best recipes and this is definitely one them. Looks great!

  9. cecilia says:

    What a splendid idea, i am going to work with this one! c

  10. Yummy Roast pork is my favorite and with whole apples, apple cider vinegar or marmalade its great. thanks

  11. Raymund says:

    That looks so delicious

Leave a Reply

