Tomato Bacon Quiche

Mmmmm Bacon

Mmmmm Bacon

At first I really wanted to do a BLT quiche, but the lettuce has to stay crunchy so I settled for just bacon and tomatoes.

And cheese and basil.

Tomato Bacon Quiche

  • 1 pie crust
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 3 slices bacon
  • 2 large tomatoes sliced thin
  • 4 cloves garlic sliced thin
  • 6 basil leaves
  • Salt/pepper

Bake pie crust for 15 minutes or until golden and puffy at 375 degrees. Meanwhile fry bacon and crumble when cool. Beat eggs with buttermilk and cheese. Season with salt and pepper. In pie crust layer half the tomato, half the garlic and half the crumbled bacon. Tear up three basil leaves and place on vegetables. Pour 1/3 of egg mixture over evenly. Repeat with another layer of all remaining ingredients and cover with egg mixture. Bake in oven at 375 degrees until quiche is set, about 25 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes before serving.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Garden, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tomato Bacon Quiche

  1. Guess you could always shred some lettuce over the top when serving. Love the idea of buttermilk in a quiche. :-) Mandy

  2. Cecile says:

    I have only three words to say about this post – YUM YUM YUM !!! I love quiche !!!!

  3. Buttermilk, eh? Never tried it that way…Wish I’d thought of quiche last night when we were all wanting a light(er) dinner…would have been better than the hot dogs!

  4. sallybr says:

    Agree, the lettuce would be hard to incorporate, maybe spinach in its place? ;-)

    but I like the idea of serving the lettuce with it, a de-constructed BLT quiche

  5. billpeeler says:

    This is genius – I’m a big fan of fresh basil, I’ll bet it’s outstanding in this dish. Looks great —

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Put a bowl of lettuce on the side and call it deconstructed. But why bother? This quiche sounds perfect to me just as it is.

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    That does look very yummy. I haven’t made one in years and recently I made a ham and cheese quiche —such a coincidence.

  8. Sherry says:

    sounds lovely indeed.

  9. TasteFood says:

    Yum – Great photo!

  10. egg me on says:

    DUDE. My stomach is growling just look at this.

  11. Oh this looks phenomenal! You could add arugula instead of the lettuce. I can’t wait to try this!

  12. nrhatch says:

    Adding lettuce would have thrown off the CPS . . . that’s “calories per slice.” :lol:

  13. I think you were wise to leave out the “L” of the BLT. It looks crispy good and could be served topped with some Arugula for the “L” when served?

  14. Now this is a great way to use mozzarella!

  15. lvaletutto says:

    Looks delicious! I like the idea of adding arugula either in or with the quiche as well.

  16. Raymund says:

    Love this for breakfast

Leave a Reply

