Duchess Potatoes

My oh my potato pie

My oh my potato pie

We chose not to pipe these into little rounds, but for a truly fantastic presentation you can go ahead and do that. In the meantime, we’re going to go ahead and dig in.

Duchess Potatoes

  • 2 lbs russet potatoes, peeled, eyes removed
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • salt/pepper to taste
  • pinch nutmeg

Cook potatoes in boiling water until fork tender. Drain and place in a large bowl. Mash with butter and milk. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir in egg yolks until incorporated. Pipe onto a greased baking sheet into roughly two-inch rounds or spoon into a greased pie pan. If using a pie pan, use a fork to score the entire top of the dish. Bake at 375 until golden, about 20 minutes for a pie pan.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Duchess Potatoes

  1. Cecile says:

    I used to make these but haven’t in a long, long time, although I absolutely love them. I’m just not big into cooking for myself… The recipe I have doesn’t call for milk, just the eggs. Also, the recipe calls for brushing the tops, which have lovely “nooks and crannies” with melted butter, then broiling them. True story – once I had guests over for dinner, we had a BIG elec. storm and the power went out. Luckily I had a gas stove at that time, so I was able to finish the dinner (including the Duchess Potatoes). So, we ate our lovely dinner by candle light ! Later we went for a walk … not a good idea ’cause a bit farther down the street was a downed elec. wire sparking away…. YIKES !!

  2. Cecile says:

    Wanted to say I really like the idea of baking the Duchess Potatoes in a pie plate AND adding the nutmeg – a great recipe Rufus !!

  3. sallybr says:

    Loved the idea of turning this into a single entity in the pie plate – I’ve made the regular version, piping away, and it’s a lot of work, I think you did a fantastic job updating this classic…

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Oh, my! Is right. This is a great dish, Greg, and I’m much more likely to serve it as you did, in a pie dish.

  5. Hooray! Food! says:

    This looks like potato heaven! Yes please!

  6. Karen says:

    Piping makes a pretty presentation but I’m more inclined to make mine like yours.

  7. Bill Peeler says:

    Looks awesome – I agree with the other comments, the pie dish makes for a great presentation.

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    A wonderfully comforting bowl filled with deliciousness. And to be honest, I love the rustic look to the presentation, no need to dirty up the pipping bag.

  9. I know this sounds terrible – but I had to google what you meant by eyes (my vocab isn’t that great, I suppose)! And there were some results about how potatoes can help with the dark circles around your eyes, and it was really funny thinking back to how I used to call those bags ‘eggs’. And I call those eyes ‘the little roots growing from the potato’ :P
    Asides from learning lots from your blog – to date, I’ve bookmarked so many recipes – to which this one’s being added. I’ve also done a lot of them, but never have reported back I s’pose. One the comes to mind a.t.m.: you know those salmon roulades? So. Damn. Good. :)

    • That doesn’t sound terrible at all. It’s actually a great reminder that we have readers (not to sound full of ourselves) from many parts of the world and with many different perspectives. Thanks for making us laugh and making our day. We need to make those roulades again!!!!!

  10. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  11. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Easter’s Coming | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  12. Pingback: Slow-Cooked Mashed Potatoes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  13. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

