Spicy Pepper Jam

So sweet and soooo spicy

So sweet and soooo spicy

Here is a slightly different take on pepper jam. For another way go here. This batch turned out really spicy, but the ratio of peppers can be adjusted if a milder version is desired. Always use really ripe fresh peppers for all canning.

Pepper Jam

  • 6 cups finely chopped peppers (6 jalapenos, 14 anaheims, 3 red bell peppers)
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 1 1/4 cup cider vinegar

Heat everything in a large pot to a boil. Cook on high until thick, about 30 minutes. Sterlize canning jars and pour hot jam into clean jars. Seal tightly and refrigerate any that do not ping.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Recipes, Things in Jars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Spicy Pepper Jam

  1. BrainRants says:

    DUDE!! This is almost a family recipe! I use pectin to make actual jelly, and sometimes add habaneros for really hot pain. This is excellent with chicken and pork, mainly, but will work with beef, especially roasts. Great post/suggestion!

  2. That is a serious sounding chilli jam. There’s a lot of power in there.

  3. sallybr says:

    I never canned anything, which is odd, I could sterilize jars like a pro using the autoclave in our lab. For some reason I never think about doing it. The pepper jam seems quite amazing to me…

  4. TasteFood says:

    I like my jam spicy.

  5. Sherry says:

    Perfect. Just the recipe I’ve been looking for. I look to have a healthy crop of hot peppers and I love hot and sweet. Great relish for chicken and pork.

  6. Goodness that looks hot! Just the photo made my mouth water.. :) Thanks for the recipe!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    This may be a bit too hot for me but I have to give it a try. It looks too good to pass up, Greg.

  8. Kristy says:

    This sounds delicious. Would love to know how you guy use it.

  9. Pingback: Sweet Jesus Chile Pepper Jam | What's On the Stove?

  10. Pingback: My Brief, Winning Foray Into “Redneck” Cooking | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

