Steak Marinated in Green Chili Sauce

The acid from the brine and peppers really broke down the cheap meat

The acid from the brine and peppers really broke down the cheap meat

Recently I got some very inexpensive beef. Normally I  would grind or stew it over a long period of time.

Except one of the pieces was in the perfect shape of a 2″ thick steak so naturally I thought fajitas. After slicing it into 1/2″ thick lengths and pounding it out to about 1/4″ I just needed a marinade that would help tenderize the meat and make a great sauce. The marinade below worked like a charm.

This sauce would work equally well for pork and chicken.

Green Chili and Tomatillo Marinade

  • 1 28 oz can tomatillos with brine from can
  • 6-8 leaves mint
  • 1/2 cup loose cilantro leaves and stems
  • 1 jalapeno
  • 1 anaheim
  • 1/2 onion
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice

Combine everything in a blender and puree. Pour over meat and marinate for at least 4 hours and up to 24. Remove meat and grill. Place marinade in pot and bring to a boil. Simmer until thick, about 15 minutes. Serve over meat, in tacos etc.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Mexican, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Steak Marinated in Green Chili Sauce

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    I adore green chilies sauce, and steak fajitas sound amazing! We eat beef so infrequently at home, I usually never buy the cheap cuts for fear that they’ll suck, but this sauce may be just the ticket!

  2. nrhatch says:

    Winner Winner Fajita Dinner! Glad you enjoyed.

  3. Good call on the fajitas. You can never go wrong there.

  4. What a good idea! We just got a bucketload of tomatillos, so I am in the market for recipes!

  5. ChgoJohn says:

    Great use of a lesser cut of beef and this sauce you made must have really brought a ton of flavor to your fajitas.

  6. Raymund says:

    I would love to do this on my next steak

  7. Oh my! This sounds divine! We always run across good deals on less that superb cuts. Great idea. Thanks Greg and Katherine.

Leave a Reply

