Spicy Dill Pickles

I bought a ton of the big jars after the season last year

I bought a ton of the big jars after the season last year

This is a slightly spicy dill pickle. For a sweeter option check this one out.

Next time I will use fresh dill instead of seeds. If you have it on hand then use 1 dill head per jar. The ratios below are for 5 32 ounce jars and the cucumbers can be sliced or whole depending on their size. I soaked mine in ice water because they came from the farmers market and it helps add moisture and crispness to the produce. If you grew them fresh then that step can be omitted, just pickle immediately after picking.

Dill Pickles

  • 20-30 small pickling cucumbers
  • 10 whole cloves garlic
  • 5 jalapenos sliced in half
  • 1 1/4 tsp dill seeds
  • 5 cups white vinegar
  • 3 cups water
  • 1/2 cup salt

Soak cucumbers in ice water for 4 hours. Drain and dry off. Slice cucumbers into spears or leave whole. Sterilize canning jars. Meanwhile heat vinegar, water and salt to a boil. Remove jars from boiling water and drain quickly. In each jar place 2 garlic cloves, 1/2 a jalapeno and 1/4 tsp dill seeds. Pack cucumbers into jars tightly. Fill each jar to top leaving the neck empty. Wipe any residue from the lip and rim of jars and seal quickly. Let pickles stand for 1 month before opening. Any jars that do not ping place in the refrigerator.

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Recipes, Things in Jars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spicy Dill Pickles

  1. Ruth says:

    I love pickles. I hear Chicago John will be posting pickles this week, too. And to think all the buzz is about shark week…….
    I bet there is a Pickle Fest somewhere I should know about!

  2. Lovely shot. I’m going to give this recipe a go. There are some good looking cornichon cucumbers around at the moment that would work well with the sweet option.

  3. We LURVE the dill pickles. We have them sliced in sandwiches and George regularly has just pickle and mayo sarnies in his pack up. I tried to make them a while back when we had a glut of small cucumbers but I salted them first and they were WAY to salty. I notice you don’t salt them at all. I shall try them your way next.

  4. Eva Taylor says:

    Home made dill pickles are my absolute favourites! Brings back such fond memories of my childhood. What I would give for a jar of those!

  5. nrhatch says:

    Those look delicious.

  6. Karen says:

    Your recipe reminded my of my uncles pickles. They were very spicy although I was very young when I tried them. I know I would love yours.

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    These sound delicious, Greg, and that’s a great tip about soaking the cukes in ice water. I’ve got to try that next time. Thanks.

  8. Gorgeous, I need to make some this year!

Leave a Reply

