Fried Sage Leaves

Crispy and tasty

Crispy and tasty

This is a great snack or starter with a cheese and cold cut plate. They also work great as a topping on salad or pasta. Make sure to use really big fresh leaves, preferably off a plant in your yard.

Fried Sage Leaves

  • 30 sage leaves
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup semolina flour
  • Salt
  • olive oil

Heat one cup olive oil in a 9″ cast iron frying pan over medium heat. Beat egg and dredge leaves in batter. Let sit two minutes. A couple of leaves at a time shake off egg and dredge in flour. Quickly set in oil and fry, flipping once until golden brown. About 10-20 seconds per side. Drain on paper towels and sprinkle with slat while still greasy. Continue until all leaves are fried. Serve hot or room temperature. Can be stored for a day or two in an airtight container.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Garden, Italian, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fried Sage Leaves

  1. niasunset says:

    WOW! We have sage leaves in here and every region has a different kind of sage, and we love them so much, but we use them just for drinking, sage tea… I haven’t known that to fry the leaves… sounds amazing, amazing… When I find a fresh one I want to try and taste. Thank you dear Rufus, and as always great photograph, the colours fascinated me. Have a nice weekend, love, nia

  2. that sounds and looks intriguing. Never had those, but when our new Hypermarket should have some imported ones I most certainly will try. Thanks. Carna :)

  3. This is something that I’d forgotten about. I’ve got a mass of sage growing at the moment. I must do this soon. Nice post.

  4. wow I do love this post! I have big plant out the back and it produces way more than we eat! Thanks for posting :)

  5. Eva Taylor says:

    We’re growing both regular sage and pineapple sage right now. If it weren’t so bloody hot and humid I’d drag out the deep fryer but it’ll have to wait.

  6. I’ve known about these for some time but never got around to making them. Now that I have a week off, I’ll have to try them!

  7. We love fried sage but I have never coated them first – will have to give this a go!

  8. Kristy says:

    Now I know what to do with all the ones I trimmed the other day. They had not yet found a home.

  9. Tammy says:

    What a fun idea! I am visiting Germany right now and we were served these at dinner. Had no idea about it until a day or two ago!

  10. Hmmm…sage looks kinda’ ratty right now, but in a month or so, we should be good for this!
    You know, just about the time it cools down enough to be able to stand over a skillet full of hot oil? :)

  11. billpeeler says:

    Looks like those critters are slam full of flavor —-

  12. Pingback: Short But Sweet « Eat, Play, Love

  13. Gerlinde says:

    I love fried sage leaves but never coated them…..the next time I will try your recipe. Thanks

Leave a Reply

