Not your nana’s lasagna

This is not approved by my nana

This is not approved by my nana

In my house growing up there was only one way to make lasagna. Recipe is here. Although I love nana’s recipe, every once in awhile, I felt that maybe a white sauce with vegetables would be a tasty alternative. Much like white pizza is good on its own account.

It did not disappoint.

Nor is it anywhere near low fat. Which is partially why lasagna is better served for a large group of people.

Vegetarian Lasagna

  • 1 box lasagna noodles
  • 2 red bell pepper halved and broiled
  • 6 cloves garlic roasted
  • 3 cups fresh spinach chopped roughly
  • 3 cups thickly sliced baby bella mushrooms
  • 2 batches of bechamel sauce
  • 24 oz whole milk ricotta
  • 1/4 cup grated romano
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1 lb fresh mozzarella grated
  • Salt/pepper

Saute mushrooms in butter until browned and all the liquid is absorbed. Wilt spinach over medium heat until bright green. Remove charred skin from peppers and blend to a paste with roasted garlic. Mix spinach, egg, romano, oregano and bell pepper paste into ricotta. Season with salt and pepper and set aside. Cook lasagna noodles in boiling salted water until pliable but slightly firmer than al dente. Strain and divide noodles into three equal groups. In a 10″ baking dish spread an even layer of bechamel sauce over the bottom. Take one set of lasagna noodles and layer them overlapping slightly to cover the bottom. Spread 1/2 the ricotta mixture evenly over the noodles. Place half the mushrooms evenly over the ricotta. Sprinkle 1/3 the mozzarella next. Finish with a thin layer of bechamel. Repeat with next set of noodles, then remaining ricotta, mushrooms, 1/3 cheese and thin layer of sauce. Top with final batch of noodles then a heavy layer of bechamel followed by the remaining mozzarella. Cover with tin foil and bake at 360 degrees for 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake until cheese is browned and lasagna is bubbly, about 15 minutes more. Remove for oven and let stand 15 minutes before slicing. Serve with extra bechamel sauce.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Not your nana’s lasagna

  1. My gosh that looks great.. I like the idea of bechamel, it’s a nice change from the acidity in a tomato based lasagna. Sounds like you’ll be eating this one for a while?

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    Sounds delicious. I don’t use mushrooms in my version of this but will give it a try the next time I make a batch. That may be this weekend as I have an entire container of ricotta and some white button mushrooms in my fridge.

  3. This sounds completely delicious — I’m saving the recipe. I never would have thought of making roasted red pepper paste and blending it with ricotta: terrific idea!

  4. G’day Looks so warm and comforting, true!
    GREAT combination and have saved the recipe too!
    Cheers! Joanne
    Now on FB too

    http://www.facebook.com/whatsonthelist

  5. That is a great looking lasagne – lovely picture. I never get round to making lasagne in summer, but this recipe gets filed. Nice one.

  6. Misky says:

    Precisely what I need for the table tonight. Thanks, Greg!

  7. niasunset says:

    I loved it, seems sooooo delicious, soo delicious :) Can I be your guest tonight for a dinner, if you haven’t finished them yet… :) Thanks and Love, nia

  8. sallybr says:

    I actually prefer a white-lasagna, and your version is awesome!

  9. Sounds fantastic. :-) Mandy

  10. That sounds amazing! I love a good lasagna, but a white sauce is a nice change…Maybe we’ll use some shredded zucchini in our – looks like we’re about to be covered in them :)

  11. Karie Engels says:

    The list of ingredients has my mouth watering ~ delicious post!

  12. Who cares if it’s not traditional? Still looks tasty!

  13. egg me on says:

    It might not be nana approved — but it’s definitely Tommy approved. Looks great!

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve a feeling that there are plenty of Nanas that would love this lasagna. No doubt about it.

  15. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: One Dish Wonders | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

