Blackberry Jam with Thyme

Back lite things are so mysterious

Back light makes things so mysterious

This jam was inspired by a drink that used blackberries and thyme. (Post to come.) Remember to always use very ripe fresh fruit for any preserve. For how to can go here.

Blackberry Thyme Jam

  • 10 cups blackberries washed
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp chopped fresh thyme

Mix everything together and bring to a boil. Cook preserves on high until thickened then pour into sterilized canning jars and seal.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Recipes, Things in Jars, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blackberry Jam with Thyme

  1. How lovely – it’s a bit too early for blackberries here but when the time comes…..!

  2. That seems like a lot of sugar for berries, are black berries not sweet? Not sure if we get them up here, but I’ll have to keep my eyes open for them in the coming month. We’ve had scorcher temperatures in mid-June through July in contrast to the chilly temps we were getting in the spring. Corn seems to be taking longer than it should, so I assume the berries would be the same. Looking forward to the drink recipe.

  3. billpeeler says:

    I tried to make strawberry jam for the first time a few weeks back, but it didn’t go so well. I just read your post on fig jam and now I want to give it another shot – thanks for the inspiration! Also – the flavor of blackberries with thyme sounds really cool. Thanks for posting this —–

  4. Karie Engels says:

    I love this…need to try it on the fam, they will love it too My children are a bit weird and picky, so I will be telling them it’s straight blackberry…. :)

  5. Michelle says:

    Our wild blackberries are FINALLY coming on. Thank goodness! Thyme sounds nice.

  6. Kristy says:

    Blackberries and thyme sounds like an interesting combo. I’m actually growing thyme this year too – no blackberries though. I wish I wasn’t so afraid of making jam!

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Great idea adding thyme into the mix. Our famers markets are currently flooded with blackberries. It’s a fantastic time of the year.

  8. egg me on says:

    Ooo, we were thinking similarly this week, fruit-wise. (You’ll see tomorrow.) I like it!

  9. Yum! Bookmarking this for the end of August when the blackberries are ripe :)

Leave a Reply

