Salmon and Yogurt Make a Good Team

That is a perfect portion of fish

That is a perfect portion of fish

Wild caught salmon went on sale recently and I bought enough to smoke plus a little extra. Here is what the extra became.

Blackened Salmon with Yogurt Lime Sauce

For Yogurt Sauce

  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • Zest of 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp horseradish
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp spice rub

Mix everything together and refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving

For Salmon

  • 1 1/2-2 lbs salmon fillet
  • 1 ancho chili
  • 1 tbsp black peppercorns
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp turmeric

Grind ancho, black peppercorns, sea salt and mustard seeds to a powder. Add ginger and turmeric. Set aside 1 tbsp spice rub for yogurt sauce then rub the rest into salmon. Let salmon sit for 30 minutes before grilling. Grill salmon on a cedar plank over indirect heat until cooked to your liking. I like my salmon to be slightly rare in the center. Serve topped with yogurt sauce.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Salmon and Yogurt Make a Good Team

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    I’ve got two types of salmon on the menu for the weekend, one is a smoked salmon hors d’œuvres on mini potato pancakes and the other is a fillet just like yours! I even have your list your blackening spices up north because I just hadn’t thought about it. I even have a mortar and pestle up there!!!

  2. sallybr says:

    I love salmon with a yogurt-based sauce, never quite did the blackened type, sounds pretty nice to me… ;-)

  3. Lea Ann says:

    If you don’t mind, I’m going to link this to my Salmon Saturday Linky. Let me know if you want me to take it off. Sounds good. And with the ancho and the mustard seeds, I must try this one.

  4. billpeeler says:

    From looking at that, you KNOW it’s full of flavor. Looks awesome!

  5. Rachel says:

    Sounds fishy to me ;-) Actually I almost posted the salmon I cooked this week too! Mmmm… and I never would have thought of this sauce (bet it would be good with lamb too, yes??) but I’ll try it – sounds great!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    A great looking dish, Greg, and like that you used the spice rub in the yogurt.

  7. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: (Almost) Summertime and The Living is Easy | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

