Sunday Suppers: A Southern Mashup

We still can’t say y’all with a straight face, but we do love Southern cuisine. Let’s do a little South of the Mason-Dixon mashup with this a la carte menu.

Fried Green Tomatoes

Shoot for golden, not blackened.

Shoot for golden, not blackened.

Fried Okra

Probably better than a handful of potato chips

Probably better than a handful of potato chips

Jambalaya

Look at the craftmanship of that pot

Look at the craftmanship of that pot

Shrimp with Redeye Gravy over Cheesy Grit Cakes

It's like a fashion model on the runway

It’s like a fashion model on the runway

Chocolate-Pecan Bread Pudding with Bourbon

So decadent

So decadent

Deep-Dish Peach Cobblers for Two

Simple cleanup skills there

Simple cleanup skills there

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Dinner, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunday Suppers: A Southern Mashup

  1. Absolutely yes to all these dishes, especially the fried okra!

  2. Never tried okra fried like that :) Since I’ve never been a big fan of it (but slowly warming up to it) – I should give it a go as I was planning on making some stew w/ the okra I have tonight!

  3. The fried okra looks very good and I’ve always wanted to try fried green tomatoes. Nice spread,…not for the faint hearted :)

  4. I really need to get around to trying fried green tomatoes. :-) Mandy

  5. MMmmmmmmm…just give me a giant plate of fried okra. I do miss it :D

  6. nrhatch says:

    What time is dinner? I be over 1/2 til for cocktails. :D

  7. Oh! I would like one of each… Great roundup! ;)

  8. Love all these great dishes! Nothing is better than Southern cuisine.

  9. Rachel says:

    I’ll pass on the okra (it’s just me…) but please pass me the shrimp, the cobbler and the bread pudding! Mmmmm!!!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    You’ve shared some great Sunday Suppers before but I think this is the best one yet!

  11. I’d like to try the green tomatoes.

  12. Meredith says:

    all favorites– what a feast! Fried green tomatoes are must in summer.

Leave a Reply

