Blueberry Risotto

Blueberries are a super food by the way. Super tasty

Blueberries are a super food by the way. Super tasty

Fruit risotto, now that’s an idea. This would work perfectly as a side for roast pork, lamb or venison and is also good by itself. This is not a dessert. For those folks who are still scared to make risotto then I do not know what to tell you except suck it up.

Blueberry Risotto

  • 6 cups vegetable stock simmering on low
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 vidalia onion diced very fine
  • 2 cups arborio rice
  • 1/4 cup dry sherry
  • 2 cups blueberries + 2 tbsp
  • 2 tbsp chopped basil

Melt butter in a large saute pan, then caramelize onion over low heat. Add rice and stir to coat. Saute for a minute then add sherry and cook until absorbed. Add two cups blueberries and one cup stock. Cook until absorbed over medium heat. Continue to add stock as it is absorbed until rice is al dente. While liquid is absorbed crush blueberries with spoon to release juices into dish. Add basil and more stock. Continue to add stock until risotto is creamy and soft. Let stand 10 minutes then serve topped with fresh blueberries as garnish.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Italian, Rice/Risotto, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blueberry Risotto

  1. TasteFood says:

    I’ve never had a fruit risotto – but now that you mention it, it’s time to try!

  2. laurasmess says:

    Greg, this is super inventive. I do love the combination of blueberries and basil but I’ve only consumed them in cocktail form so far! I am not a risotto wimp, so… I’m going to suck it up and try this very soon. Probably with some amazing roast pork. We don’t get Vidalia onions over here so I might try some shallots instead? What do you think? Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Love blueberries – wish they were more available here. Sweet risottos are very good indeed.

  4. works for me, ater all we eat apricots and apple sauce with pork – great idea.

  5. Fabulous idea. We do raisins and currants in rice all the time, but never fresh fruit. Have to fix that!

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    Now this is very creative! I’m really loving the concept and pairing it with venison sounds amazing!

  7. Kristy says:

    We love fruit risotto! The rhubarb risotto is still one of my favorites that Mike makes. I actually asked him to make it recently. I need to remind him of that. ;) And now I’ll need to share this one with him. I actually pulled our blueberries out for breakfast this a.m. as I was craving them. And now you’ve got me craving them again. (I suppose it’s healthier than the lemon bars!)

  8. A little sweet to the savory. I like it!

  9. That certainly is an idea! :D

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    Great dish, Greg. I like the use of dry sherry here. I may “borrow” that idea. Thanks.

  11. Raymund says:

    Interesting risotto, i never tried fruits with it

  12. Yum, blueberry and basil! That colour is great.

  13. Fantastic recipe, Greg! Now I’ll have to suck it up ;) because I have ti try this!

  14. Pingback: Creamy Stovetop “Risotto” | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

