Strawberry Jam with Rosemary and Balsamic

It's about that many berries for one container of jam

It’s about that many berries for one container of jam

This year I decided to change up the strawberry jam recipe again by adding rosemary instead of cinnamon. To offset the flavor of the herb and increase the sweetness I added balsamic vinegar. The result turned out very good, with the fresh spice of the rosemary complemented by the sweet strawberries. As always, use the freshest and ripest fruit for any jam. For canning instruction go here.

Strawberry Jam with Rosemary

  • 9 cups strawberries chopped into small dice
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 2 tbsp minced fresh rosemary
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

Mix all ingredients together in a large stock pot and bring to a boil over medium heat. Cook jam down until reduced by half, about 30 minutes. Makes enough jam for 4-5 12 oz containers.

For a more basic strawberry preserves click here. Or for one with brown sugar and citrus go here.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dessert, Food, Recipes, Things in Jars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Strawberry Jam with Rosemary and Balsamic

  1. My daughter and I were talking last night about what to do to punch-up our strawberry jam this year…rosemary was part of the conversation :)
    If Strawberry Season ever gets here, that is…

  2. Karen says:

    I think the idea of adding rosemary is terrific.

  3. Emma says:

    I love rosemary almost as much as bacon. Strawberries are in season here. Going picking Tuesday. Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. I could just do with a jar of that jam. I was planning to make a jam sponge today – all that’s missing from the larder is jam:)

  5. nancyc says:

    Adding balsamic vinegar to the jam sounds really good!

  6. Sherry says:

    haven’t made any for a couple of years. I must search out some strawberries. Time for this. Thanks for a lovely recipe!

  7. Alison says:

    Sounds great!

  8. I can’t wait to try this!! Gorgeous and tasty!

  9. Carole says:

    Carole’s Chatter is collecting links for jams, jellies and relishes today. This is a nice one. I do hope you pop over and link in. This is the link . Cheers

  10. nrhatch says:

    I’ve enjoyed all your strawberry posts this week . . . such colorful berries!

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    This has got to be good! It’s a great combination of flavors.

  12. I’ve had strawberries with balsamic and basil, but not rosemary – sounds good!

  13. Eva Taylor says:

    This combo would make an amazing his d’œuvres on a crostini smeared with goats cheese and a small dollop of this jam.

  14. tandre07 says:

    Looks awesome. here it’s mango season and we just got a ton of mangoes from our neighbor. I canned them this weekend myself. Great post.

  15. Eat to His Glory says:

    That looks fantastic, genius! Wow!

  16. How delightful! saving this for my jamming season/session :)

  17. Pingback: Strawberry Season | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

