Meatloaf Stuffed with Cheese

Look at the cheese just seeping through without leaking out the sides. It brings a tear to my eye

Look at the cheese just seeping through without leaking out the sides. It brings a tear to my eye

For this meatloaf I used a mixture of ground chicken and beef. This meant that there needed to be a little more moisture in the filling to help compensate for the chicken’s low-fat content. I accomplished this by not squeezing the buttermilk from the bread cubes and adding everyone’s favorite secret ingredient.

CHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESE.

Chicken Meatloaf Stuffed with Cheese

  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 slices wheat bread crusts discarded and cut into small cubes
  • 1/2 lb ground chicken
  • 1/2 lb ground chuck
  • 2 ribs celery chopped into small dice
  • 1 jalapeno pepper minced
  • 1 cup red onion finely diced
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 6 oz mozzarella cut into thin rectangular strips
  • Salt/pepper

Soak bread in buttermilk until almost all is absorbed. Pour off any excess, but do not squeeze out bread. Mix everything but the cheese together and form into a rough loaf. Do not overwork the meat, it will be a little wet but should hold its shape. Grease a large baking dish. Create a well in the center of the loaf and place the cheese in it. Leave about 1 1/2″ meat on each end. Fold the loaf back together and place the meat seam side down on baking pan. Coat outside in olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Bake in an oven at 350 degrees until a knife passes cleanly through the loaf and the outside in browned, about 1 hour. Let rest for 10 minutes before slicing.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beef, Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Meatloaf Stuffed with Cheese

  1. I usually add a handful of grated cheese to meatloaf, but I like the idea of a gooey melted puddle in the middle…

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    As much as I like the idea its cheesy center, this meatloaf would still be great without it.

  3. Eva Taylor says:

    One of our customers gave us stuffed burgers and one was stuffed with jalopeño and cheddar! My nephew loved it. What a great idea to do with meatloaf.

  4. egg me on says:

    Yowza!! Now that’s a manly meatloaf! Looks awesome.

  5. Think this should be the first meat loaf I make. :-) Mandy

  6. Bill Peeler says:

    I’ve made cheese-stuffed meatloaf before (I used pepper-jack) – but your technique with the buttermilk-soaked bread is new to me. I think you’ve inspired me to revisit this meaty modern classic!

  7. Caroline says:

    Oh, sweet heavens. I love meat loaf, and then you go and stuff it with cheese?! Awesome, awesome and more awesomeness.

  8. sallybr says:

    Never added cheese to my meatloaf… must correct this handicap sooner rather than later… :-)

    (still unable to comment from iPad, so I am forced to indulge on your blog at work! see what you do?)

  9. CHEEEEESE!!!! Yum!

  10. Amanda says:

    I was scanning by and at first read “meatloaf stuffed cheese.” haha!
    Next meatloaf I make, I’ll try some cheese!

  11. Raymund says:

    I would stuff cheese into almost everything if possible. I can just imagine that melting hot cheese, mmmmmm

  12. Add a tablespoon of prepared horseradish for another version…and cheddar. You’ll LOVE it :D

  13. yum! i’ll have to try it. my hubby says thanks. haha

  14. Carolyn Chan says:

    Molten cheese makes everything taste better !

Leave a Reply

