Vanishing Biscotti

Guess which one has the cookies in it

Guess which one has the cookies in it

The first rule of food blogging: Remember to snap a picture of whatever you’ll be writing about. Never, for instance, bake cookies for a coworker and take them off to work without first artfully displaying them or at least snapping a shot of them cooling on a rack. Anyway enjoy this random shot of our new kitchen canisters.

Biscotti with Pecans, Dates and White Chocolate

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chopped dates
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375. Butter and flour a baking sheet. In a large bowl, mix flour, salt, baking powder and sugar. Create a well in the center. Add eggs, honey and vanilla. Stir until incorporated. Add nuts, dates and chocolate and mix again. If the dough is a little dry, work it with your hands until just incorporated. Drop dough onto baking sheet in two even logs, about two inches wide and 10-12 inches long. Bake until golden and firm. Let cool for 10 minutes. Lower heat to 325. Once biscotti has cooled slightly cut them at a diagonal in roughly 1/2 inch slices. Stand upright on baking sheet and return to oven. Cook for 10 minutes longer.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Vanishing Biscotti

  1. Hahaha, boy I hate it when that happens :) I’ve been facing the reverse lately. Cooking things from your site/other bloggers’ sites, snapping the pics, and just never getting around to posting them saying a huge thank you. :) Love the combination of flavours in these.

  2. rutheh says:

    I know they were just lovely. AND delicious.

  3. TasteFood says:

    Great tins. I think I know those biscotti.

  4. Some sychronicity going on here, Greg. I just bought some delicious dates and I guess I can replace pecans with walnuts. Nice recipe.

  5. Sounds like a winning combination – no wonder you didn’t get a chance to take a picture!

  6. lvaletutto says:

    I love your canisters!

  7. You’re right. I need to keep the camera more handy in the kitchen. I hate it when I break into packages and then realize, I never recorded the ingredients. Vanishing is right. I have never considered white chocolate chips in biscotti. As always, thank you for the recipe.

  8. Like the recipe – but want the tins!!! Please! Carina

  9. billpeeler says:

    I’ve made biscotti a couple times as gifts for people. Has always seemed to me a better gift than keeping it all for myself – I guess I want to keep a cake or soft cookies for myself? And if I received those canisters as a gift, that would be just fine with me as well!

  10. Kristy says:

    Ha! That’s hilarious! Love the canisters. Bet the biscotti were good too! :)

  11. LOL! That has happened to me at least once or twice!

  12. Sherry says:

    so where did you get the cannisters? lol

  13. Nice canisters! Oh, and I’m making biscotti today!

  14. I believe you – it’s happened to me so many times! Lovely tins…we all want some now :)

  15. Well, they sound delicious.. ;-)

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve no doubt your biscotti were delicious and we got to see you new canisters. I’d say it’s a great post.

  17. egg me on says:

    Ha! I can picture then and know they were great.

  18. Carolyn Chan says:

    Wow that’s some fancy biscotti and your lucky coworker ! And how cute are those canisters ??

  19. Hehe! They look delicious! ;)

Leave a Reply

