Crispy Oven Baked Fries

McDonald's got nothing on these

McDonald’s has got nothing on these

The question has plagued man since the dawn of time. Or the dawn of time when fat was brought to a boil and potato slices fell in.

How do I make french fries that are crispy and tasty without adding all the unhealthy fat from frying them and creating a huge mess of grease all over the kitchen?

Obviously the answer was to bake them. Of course that created soggy or burnt chunks of potato. Or they may have been roasted right, but their fried counterparts just tasted better.

Well have no fear for here is the solution.

Oven Baked French Fries

  • 2 lbs russet potatoes
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • Sea salt
  • Black Pepper
  • Old Bay

Peel potatoes and cut into thin wedges. The size of your fries will affect the time it takes to cook. Place in a large bowl and soak in cold water for 30 minutes changing the water twice. Preheat oven to 475 degrees. On a large baking sheet spread out three tablespoons olive oil. Sprinkle salt, pepper and old bay evenly over the sheet to your liking. Don’t add too much salt because the Old Bay has salt in it as well. Drain potatoes and dry with a towel. Toss wedges with remaining oil and arrange on baking dish in one even layer. Cover tightly with foil. Place in oven and cook for five minutes then remove foil. Continue to bake until bottoms begin to turn golden brown, 12-15 minutes. Remove from oven and flip all slices over. Place back in oven and roast until crispy and done, 5-15 minutes more. Serve hot with whatever you like to dip French fries in.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Crispy Oven Baked Fries

  1. I find using grapeseed oil produces an even crispier chip. :-) Mandy

  2. ChgoJohn says:

    One of these days I’ll remember to use Old Bays on my spuds. Have you tried roasting potatoes like this on the grill? It saves turning the oven on in Summer. A very good thing when there’s no central air.

  3. Great idea! I love these kind of potatoes :)

  4. sallybr says:

    This method is similar to the one you had maybe a year ago for sweet potatoes, right? You also soaked them in water… Did you know I made those and my pictures turned out completely out of focus so I could not blog on them? Yeap, typical Sally boo-boo… Gotta make those (and these) again….

  5. Kristy says:

    I LOVE your sweet potato fry recipe. It’s one of my favorites. Now I’m going to have to be all over these. We’re having bbq chicken this weekend and I think these will go well. Mike will be happy too (they won’t be sweet potatoes!). :)

  6. billpeeler says:

    I’m a big fan of Old Bay and love using it like this. I’ll be these are fantastic —–

  7. Lauren says:

    I love that you do the steaming step in the oven using foil — brilliant! We usually do it on the stovetop, but this would save a dish (and some time and effort). Love it.

  8. Purely.. Kay says:

    I AM IN LOVE witht his recipe. I am a HUGE french fry person but could never perfect the oven fry. I will be making this

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    This sounds and looks incredible, Greg. I suppose baking them covered replicates the double frying process that the French do; they actually fry the fries until 1/2 done, then they remove from the oil and allow to cool completely, then they fry them again in hot oil. It makes for a super creamy inside and a crisp outside. Ironically, this method was discovered purely by accident when his dinner guests arrived over an hour late. Apparently there is much controversy around the temperature the oil should be. I’m going to try out your much easier and healthier version next weekend while we’re baby-sitting my niece and nephew.

  10. I discovered Old Bay by accident over 15 years ago. I use it as often as I can especially when preparing oven fries. I love Old Bay seasonings.

  11. TasteFood says:

    This is my favorite way to make potatoes.

  12. Ah, delicious as a snack or as breakfast potatoes!

  13. Karen says:

    The mess of splattering oil is enough reason to bake the “fries”. Like the idea of Old Bay seasoning.

  14. Raymund says:

    Thanks for this tip, I always get them soggy hence I always resort to deep frying. Will try this one out

  15. nrhatch says:

    We love oven roasted tatties! :mrgreen:

  16. Amanda says:

    You know I’ve tried to do fries, both baking and frying them. I like the trick with the baking it with the foil on then taking it off, kind of like how they say to fry the fries first in a lower temp then increasing it.

    I’ll have to try this next time I make potatoes!

  17. Carolyn Chan says:

    Never heard of soaking them in water but seems like a simple trick that solves my aversion to deep frying things :)

  18. Pingback: Red, White and BBQ « Eat, Play, Love

Leave a Reply

