Mexican Salad

Healthy

Healthy

Broken tortilla chips can be added to give this a little more crunch if desired.

Layered Mexican Salad

For Beans

  • 1/2 lb black beans
  • 1 cup red chili sauce or salsa
  • 4 green onions white and green parts chopped and separated
  • Salt/pepper

Wash and soak beans overnight. Cover with water and bring to a boil. Turn heat to a simmer and cook until soft, adding more water if required. Add white parts of onion and chili sauce. Season with salt and pepper and cook until thick and creamy, about 1 hour. Add green parts of onion and serve.

For cabbage

  • 1 small head cabbage cored and shredded
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp cider vinegar

Place cabbage in a bowl. Mix other ingredients together and pour over cabbage. Let sit for 30 minutes in refrigerator.

For fruit salsa

  • 1/2 pineapple cut into small chunks
  • 1 mango cut into small dice
  • 2 jalapenos minced
  • 4 green onions chopped fine
  • 3 avocados chopped into small dice
  • 2 tbsp cilantro

Mix everything together and let sit for an hour in refrigerator before serving. To assemble start with cabbage then beans and top with salsa. Apply hot sauce as required.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Mexican, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mexican Salad

  1. Kristy says:

    Love the use of Dijon here. :)

  2. I’d slurp this up in a minute!

  3. This sounds delicious — I love the use of cabbage here. Just leave out the avocado for me…

  4. It would be hard for me not to eat the avocados all by themselves at the beginning. Looks good!

  5. Your salad would make any meal better!

  6. I like your version of fruit salsa with the avocado. Great combo of ingredients.

  7. Oh this looks wonderful. Love the fruit/avocado together. You know I love anything Mexican so this is right up my alley.

  8. Loks gorgeous and love the fruit and avocado!

  9. billpeeler says:

    Love all the fresh flavors going on with this. Looks delicious as well!

  10. lauralayne says:

    Looks fabulous and healthy all at the same time! Those are my favorite kinds of recipes. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Daniella says:

    I’ve made this dish several times and this recipe seems so much easier. I like how you use dijon mustard in the recipe. Definitely one I will have to try. The flavors work well together and I’m sure I will enjoy the addition on dijon mustard. I too have a blog about food which is similar to yours. Here it is if you are interested: http://recreatefood.wordpress.com

  12. Caroline says:

    Love the fruit salsa. I’m sure it was a great flavor contrast to the beans in chili sauce. Yum!

  13. Purely.. Kay says:

    I am in heaven just looking at this photo. I love this salad

Leave a Reply

