Bloody Mezcal

Cool with a smoky finish

Cool with a smoky finish

It seems like there may be a trend to eliminate some items from the liquor cabinet.

Of course if you come up with too many good drinks then it just means another bottle may need to be bought.

I used brine from the pickled okra, but any spicy brine will work.

Mezcal Bloody Mary

  • 5.5 oz tomato juice
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp spicy brine
  • 4 slices cucumber
  • 2 oz mezcal

Blend or muddle cucumbers with the tomato juice, lemon juice and brine. Add mezcal and pour over ice. Serve with a slice of cucumber as garnish.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Mexican, Spirits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bloody Mezcal

  1. This sounds delicious. I like that you reused/recycled the juice from a jar of pickled okra! I never know what to do with all that brine left in pickled veg jars? Now I know. Great color in your photo.

  2. Eva Taylor says:

    I’ve not heard of mezcal before, is it like Tequila? I do enjoy a good bloody mary, but my favourite is a Caesar (it’s a Canadian invention) they use clamato (tomato clam juice), horse radish, tobasco and salt and garnish it usually with a celery stock with leaves on.

  3. Not a huge fan of Mezcal, but I think I would actually love that smoky flavor combined with these ingredients. Nice concoction!

  4. Kristy says:

    Mike would love this one! :)

  5. nrhatch says:

    I had a bloody mary today . . . yum!

  6. ChgoJohn says:

    Fantastic drink and such a green one, at that, repurposing spicy brine. Save the planet. Drink Bloody Mezcals!

  7. Lauren says:

    That looks crazytown. I still haven’t tried mezcal, but I am becoming convinced that I need to!

  8. egg me on says:

    I’d happily say “Bloody Mary” three times in dark room if it meant I’d get one of these. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

