Super Creamy Awesome Grits

A little hot sauce on top is nice

A little hot sauce on top is nice

Sometimes there just needs to be more fat in a dish. For regular grit preparation go here.

Use the fancy stone ground grits for this dish. They can usually be found in a special burlap sack in the health food or expensive grocery store. Or use regular grits if you must, just do not use instant.

Creamy Grits

  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 3/4 cup white corn grits
  • 1/4 grated Romano
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • Salt/pepper

In a three-quart sauce pot over low heat melt the butter in the water and milk. Do not scald the milk. When butter is melted and liquid begins to simmer add grits. Whisk well, cover and turn heat to very low. Uncover and stir grits every few minutes until thick, about 15-20 minutes. Add cheese and cream, season with salt and pepper and cover again. Continue to cook over very low heat stirring occasionally until they reach a thick but still creamy consistency, about 30 minutes. Add more cream if necessary. Serve hot as a side or as a substitute for rice in many Southern dishes like etouffee.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Breakfast, Dinner, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Super Creamy Awesome Grits

  1. A_Boleyn says:

    I’ve been curious about the famous shrimp and grits combo and this sounds like a great recipe to make it with. Just have to pick up some grits. :)

  2. Recent conversation at dinner:
    “Grandmom made grits tonight!”
    (Me, in my best Southern Gal voice) “No. We are FANCY folks. We call it PO-len-TAH…”
    Whatever name you use, they’re awesome!

  3. I grew up in Arkansas, but my house was always an oatmeal one. I’m only experiencing grits as an adult!

  4. sallybr says:

    Never had grits… often wonder about it too… oh, well – too many dishes, so little time :-)

  5. TasteFood says:

    I’ve never had grits…call me a Yankee.

  6. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m definitely going to have to bite the bullet and make the grits one day. Trouble is that when I was down in Atlanta about 17 years ago, I had some and wasn’t overly impressed. I like the addition of the hot sauce…that may just do the trick.

  7. Love a good bowl of cheesy, savory grits.

  8. nrhatch says:

    Yum. Love me some grits. :D

  9. Mmm the dollop of hot sauce on top just makes this perhaps, cuts through the creaminess a bit and leaves you craving more!

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    I am certainly no expert but these, with the cram, butter, and Romano cheese, certainly aren’t your run-of-the mill grits. A couple drops of yellow food coloring and they’ll be perfect. :)

  11. I know this sounds very strange but the only way I have ever tried grits is with sausage and gravy and if you think your recipe had a lot of fat, I do not even want to think about the calories I consumed on that day. take care, BAM

  12. Bill Peeler says:

    As a lifelong, die-hard grits lover, I am truly jealous. Love that picture above, what great texture —

  13. Ooh yes, these sound good! I want to go to a diner and order grits for the real experience!

  14. Pingback: Sausage and Lentils | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

