Stuffed Manicotti

So much cheese

So much cheese

Manicotti, much like lasagna, can be filled with just about anything. I prefer to go vegetarian and make it slighlty healthier, but it really does not make much of a difference with all the cheese.

For this manicotti I used king trumpet mushrooms for their meaty stalks, but any fancy mushrooms will work. It also is a good idea to use artichoke hearts from the deli instead of ones found in a jar but as long as they are packed in oil it will be OK.

Manicotti Filled with Mushrooms and Artichoke Hearts

  • 1 quart marinara
  • 1 package manicotti shells
  • 1 egg
  • 24 oz whole milk ricotta
  • 6 leaves basil chopped
  • 3 large king trumpet mushrooms cut into small dice
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 3 large artichoke hearts diced medium
  • 1/2 cup grated Romano
  • 16 oz fresh mozzarella shredded
  • Salt/pepper

Mix ricotta, egg, artichoke hearts, romano, and basil. Season with salt and pepper. In a frying pan heat 2 tbsp butter and fry garlic for 2 minutes over medium heat. Add mushrooms and cook until the have realeased their liquid and begin to brown. Let mushrooms cool then add to ricotta. Let filliing sit in refrigerator for at least 2 hours. Cook shells in boiling salted water until al dente. In a large baking dish spoon 4 tbsp sauce on the bottom. When shells have cooled stuff with cheese mixture and place on marinara. When all the shells are filled cover manicotti with remaining sauce and then with mozrella. Bake at 365 degrees for 30 minutes. Let manicotti sit for 10 minutes before serving.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Restaurants, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Stuffed Manicotti

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    A great filling recipe, Greg, and reminder that baby artichokes will soon be here. Yay!
    (I really do need to get out a bit more.)

  2. A double portion of this would hit the spot right now. :-) Mandy

  3. I’d never heard of Manicotti, but they look great. Love all the ingredients, so it must be delicious. There’s something very good about baby artichokes in oil that are bought at the traiteur.

  4. lvaletutto says:

    This looks so delicious, I can’t wait to make it and I think my vegetarian husband will approve too!

  5. Love the mushroom & artichoke filling! Two of my favorites.

  6. Never thought of artichokes…other than that, this is one that was a Birthday Dinner request for my oldest, nearly every year!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Horse seems to be a very popular European lasagne ingredient presently ;-)

  8. Purely.. Kay says:

    I love making my own with a lot of cheese. But I definitely will be trying out your recipe. I haven’t had manicotti in such along time. I’m drooling now

  9. Lauren says:

    You had me at the photo. That looks amazing!

  10. Karen says:

    Our market has just started carrying the King mushrooms…I bet they are delicious in the stuffing with the artichokes.

  11. Lovely, adore little artichokes and had never heard of manicotti…cooked hands eh?!

  12. Oh yes, this works! I need to be on the lookout for King mushrooms.

  13. nrhatch says:

    That reminds me . . . I’ve got to cook a lasagna soon!

  14. sallybr says:

    don’t remember last time I made this type of dish… you always brings great options to my virtual table… delicious looking dish!

  15. nancyc says:

    Yum–this sounds great! :)

  16. Caroline says:

    Oh, yum! Love mushrooms in manicotti, but never thought of adding artichokes. Sounds great. :)

  17. I’ve been craving hearty pastas lately but have been dining out to get them. I’ll have to make this after my current cleanse is over!

  18. OMG!!!! That looks so yummy!!!
    You have a great blog, i’m following you! :)
    If you want to have a look at my blog it would be so great :)

    http://mystylerecipe.com

Leave a Reply

