Spicy Home Fries

A balanced breakfast

A balanced breakfast

We had a few leftover cooked potatoes from a crayfish boil and decided some spice was in order. If you can’t handle the heat, or think they could be even hotter, adjust accordingly. Having cooked potatoes on hand made for a speedier dish, but there’s nothing that says you can’t cook yours from scratch.

Home Fries with Chipotle Peppers

  • 2 cups cooked red potatoes, cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1/2 cup minced onion
  • 1 1/2 tbsp bacon grease
  • 1 tbsp minced chipotle pepper in adobe
  • salt/pepper

Heat bacon grease in a large skillet. Throw in onions and cook until tender and beginning to brown. Stir in pepper and cook a minute longer. Throw in potatoes and cook until heated through. Adjust seasoning as needed. Serve warm

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, Recipes, Sides, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Spicy Home Fries

  1. Those look yummy and I just ate. Love chipotle and these sound perfect.

  2. A_Boleyn says:

    I need to go shopping and pick up some potatoes and chipotle in adobo cause this dish sounds very tasty.

  3. sallybr says:

    another huge fan of chipotle here! i ve been using it more and more lately

  4. Very good looking plateful on a freezing,cold morning.

  5. Spuddies with bacon fat – has to be good. :-) Mandy

  6. Gorgeous, in fact the whole dish looks perfect!

  7. Misky says:

    Brilliant. I love using up leftovers like this. I always keep a covered container of leftover potatoes on the wokrtop for a quick fry-up.

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    Now this is my kind of breakfast! Love the heat too, and it’s perfect as I’ve been fighting a rather persistent respiratory infection that’s really taken me out. I love spicy when I have a cold.

  9. Lately, I’ve been making chunky french fries in the oven…not fried, but drizzled with virgin oil and spices. I will have to try these, too.

  10. theansmith says:

    These look great. My husband loves chipotle in adobo, so I’ll have to try this recipe!

  11. You know you are a Southerner when you proudly list bacon grease as an ingredient.

  12. Karen says:

    Yum, spicy home fries and eggs sounds like a great way to start off this weekend.

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve been making home fries with bacon grease lately but not with the chipotle. Served with a couple eggs and bacon and you’ve got a breakfast that will get you moving in the morning.

  14. egg me on says:

    These look freakin’ fantastic. What a great way to use chipotles in adobe! And the bacon grease. Mmm. Bacon grease.

  15. Mad Dog says:

    Great flavours!

  16. What a perfect side dish to compliment just about any meal.

  17. TasteFood says:

    These look great. You can’t go wrong with bacon grease.

  18. Take away the bacon grease and I’m in. Roasted breakfast potatoes are delicious!

  19. nrhatch says:

    Leftover potatoes are a great starter. :D

  20. I love any kind of potatoes for breakfast, great idea!

  21. This just makes me hungry! Abigail x

  22. rsmacaalay says:

    If its spicy I will devour it in no time!

Leave a Reply

